Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Board and Card Games > Card Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-05-2022, 08:53 AM   #1
lucienpsmith
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Default Knightmare Chess: rules and cards

These are not official, but something my friend and I codified so that we have an explicit common understanding of game mechanics.

Turns
The following illustrates game play, and when cards can be played. The only exception to card play is “DOUBLE AGENTS”, which can be played at any time but must adhere to the one card per turn rule.
  1. Start of game
  2. Each player draws 5 cards per rules
  3. Before White’s turn
  4. Beginning of White’s turn
    1. Before White’s move (White can play a card)
    2. White’s move (White can play a card instead of White’s regular move) (captures occur at this point)
    3. After White’s move (White can play a card; Black can play a card)
  5. End of White’s turn (White can play a card)
  6. After turn (CHAOS, KNIGHTMARE, THINK AGAIN, ESCAPE, BOG, DOUBLE AGENTS, FOG OF WAR, SECOND SIGHT, SLIPPERY GROUND, TAKE BACK THIS EVIL DAY, TOLL)
  7. Before Black’s turn (White can discard and replace a card)
  8. Beginning of Black’s turn
    1. Before Black’s move (Black can play a card)
    2. Black’s move (Black can play a card instead of their regular move) (captures occur here)
    3. After Black’s move (Black can play a card; White can play a card)
  9. At the end of Black’s turn (White can play things like CHAOS here)
  10. End of Black’s turn
  11. After Black’s Turn (CHAOS, KNIGHTMARE, THINK AGAIN, ESCAPE, BOG, DOUBLE AGENTS, FOG OF WAR, SECOND SIGHT, SLIPPERY GROUND, TAKE BACK THIS EVIL DAY, TOLL)
  12. Before White’s turn (Black can discard and replace a card)
  13. Beginning of White’s turn
    1. Before White’s move (White can play a card)
    2. White’s move (White can play a card instead of White’s regular move)
    3. After White’s move (White can play a card; Black opponent can play a card)
  14. End of White’s turn
  15. After turn (CHAOS, KNIGHTMARE, THINK AGAIN, ESCAPE, BOG, DOUBLE AGENTS, FOG OF WAR, SECOND SIGHT, SLIPPERY GROUND, TAKE BACK THIS EVIL DAY, TOLL)
  16. Before White's turn (White can discard and replace a card)


Card Drawing
The card must resolve before you get to draw a card.

Card Play
A card is considered played when it is used when it is eligible for play and it is not canceled. If it is attempted and is ineligible, it is discarded. If it is attempted and is canceled, it is discarded. If it is played, but then CHAOSed, it goes back into your hand and is not considered played.
“Playing” a card means:
  1. Showing/stating the card you are using.
  2. Ask opponent if they are using FOG (FOG OF WAR gets played here)
  3. Taking the action(s) specified by the card
  4. Card “resolves”/completes. Replace the card by taking the top card from the deck

The card “resolves” (completes) at step #3. If White plays a card, Black can play FOG OF WAR to stop the play at step #1. White never takes the action specified by the card. White’s card and FOG OF WAR go into the discard pile. White replaces their card by taking the top card from the deck, then Black replaces his FOG OF WAR by taking the top card from the deck.

For example: White plays PLOTS WITHIN PLOTS, wishing to play two cards: CARD-A and CARD-B. Black can use FOG OF WAR to cancel PLOTS WITHIN PLOTS at step #1, or Black can choose to cancel CARD-A or CARD-B at their respective step #1:
  1. White shows/states that he is using PLOTS WITHIN PLOTS (Black can use FOG OF WAR to cancel PLOTS WITHIN PLOTS here, White draws a card then Black draws a card)
  2. White takes the action(s) specified by PLOTS WITHIN PLOTS:
    1. White states that he is using CARD-A and CARD-B (Black can use FOG of WAR to cancel either CARD-A or CARD-B here, White draws a card then Black draws a card)
    2. White takes the actions of CARD-A and CARD-B (or the card not cancelled by 1.3)
    3. White draws a card for CARD-A and CARD-B (or just one card if 1.3)
  3. PLOTS WITHIN PLOTS completes, and white replaces PLOTS WITHIN PLOTS by drawing a card from the deck

Checkmate Rule
Checkmate is defined as a player's inability to remove check on their king(s) by the end of their turn (HEIR creates a condition where a player might have two kings on the board at the same time).

A player may, at times during the game, have more than one king of their color on the board. E.g. if black has two kings via HEIR: In order for black to be in checkmate, both of the black kings would need to be in check at the end of black's turn (black was unable to remove the check against all his kings by the end of his turn).

No regular card may directly cause a checkmate situation or the capture of a King! This rule takes precedence over any other rule, or anything on a card. If a played card breaks this rule, it has no effect. It is still considered played; the player must discard it and draw a new card. (It is fine to use a card to check the enemy King . . . but you may not use a card to mate.)

You cannot use a before-move card to check the enemy King, and then “capture” it with your regular move. The King cannot be captured!
However, you could use a before-move card (say, Disintegrate, to remove an obstructing pawn) and then make a regular move to checkmate the enemy King.

Likewise, if any continuing effect would cause (or help to cause) a checkmate, that is what happens; the continuing effect card is not removed from play. (Thus, if a piece has been given permanent special powers by a card, it can use those powers to checkmate a King.)

Thus, you may place or leave your King in check, if on the same turn you play a card to remove the check!

Example: You could move your king adjacent to a queen and then play FATAL ATTRACTION. Your king is not in check because the queen is unable to move.

Special Pawn Rules
Any pawn in its owner’s first or second rank may make a two-square “initial move,” even if it has already moved. Any pawn making such a move may be captured en passant. Pawns may promote only to Queen, Rook, Knight or Bishop. They may not promote to new types of piece. Pawns which reach the last rank by any means except a normal Pawn move do not promote unless the card specifically says they do promote, and may not promote to a piece which creates an immediate checkmate. If your Pawn reaches the last rank on your opponent’s move, via a card that allows promotion, it promotes immediately. In case of simultaneous promotions by both players, the moving player must declare first.

En Passant
If a pawn is moved two squares forward via its "initial move," it may be captured en passant by a Pawn (but not a Crab) that threatens the square immediately behind its new position. En passant capture works only when the opponent’s pawn can capture the square directly behind the pawn that made this initial two square move forward.

Example: NEW TACTICS and En Passant
With NEW TACTICS in play, white may move his pawn two squares toward the last rank. But because NEW TACTICS is in play, the black pawn can not capture it en passant because now all pawns move diagonally and capture forward.

If the black pawn is a CRAB (moves and captures diagonally), it would not be able to capture white en passant because a CRAB is not a pawn and CRAB specifies that a crab only retains the pawn ability to promote when it reaches the last rank.

Conflicts
Conflicts occur when two cards have contradictory instructions.

The Checkmate Rule takes precedence over everything. When a card conflicts with any other rule, or with the rules of chess, the card takes precedence.

When two cards appear to conflict, Continuing Effects take precedence. If both, or neither, are Continuing
Effects, the last card played takes precedence.
  • When two continuing effect cards conflict, the last played continuing effect card takes precedence over the previously played cards contradictory instructions.
  • When a continuing effect has contradictory instructions to a regular (non-continuing effect) card, the continuing effect takes precedence over the regular card's contradictory instructions.
  • When two regular (non-continuing effect) cards have contradictory instructions (i.e. they conflict), the most recent played card's instructions overrides the previous played card's contradictory instructions.
Example:
DUNGEON has two instructions, and has directions on when the card can be played.
INSTRUCTIONS
  • Choose one of your opponent’s pieces, except a king, and move it to any unoccupied corner of the chessboard.
  • Your opponent cannot move the piece on his following turn.
WHEN TO BE PLAYED
  • Play this card immediately after your move.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
LOST CASTLE has one instruction, and has directions on when the card can be played.
INSTRUCTIONS
  • Swap the positions of one of your rooks and one of your opponents rooks.
WHEN TO BE PLAYED
  • Play this card on your turn, instead of making a regular move

GAME PLAY:
On white’s turn, white move one of his pieces and then plays DUNGEON
  • White places black’s rook in a corner square.
  • The DUNGEON card goes into the discard pile.
  • White draws a card from the deck
On black's turn, black plays LOST CASTLE
  • Black swaps the positions of one of his rooks and one of his opponents rooks (it over-rules instruction #2 of DUNGEON (DUNGEON’s rule #1 is unaffected)
  • The LOST CASTLE card goes into the
    discard pile
  • Black draws a card from the deck

Board state and player intentions
Knightmare chess does not care about the intentions of any player, only the board state - which includes the pieces on the board, the board's orientation, continuing effects, and conditions that cards have created.
lucienpsmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2022, 06:44 AM   #2
lucienpsmith
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Default Re: Knightmare Chess: rules and cards

We explored man-trap with checkmate conditions and revised the rules.

Scenario:
White moves bishop to a square to block check, that square has MAN-TRAP on it - the bishop triggers the MAN-TRAP and the bishop is removed. White has no other move on his turn and no white card play can help him. White loses the game.

Discussion:
MAN-TRAP is a continuing effect, and it's play or removal or trigger does not contradict the checkmate rule. White loses as his king is in check at the end of his turn, because he has already used his move and his hand does not contain any card which can be used to eliminate the check condition before the end of his turn.

There may be scenarios under which a "bad faith" player can try to undermine the spirit of the game by using his king to try to trigger or remove continuing effects.

E.g. TRUCE/FREEZE (continuing effect ends when a king is placed in check) is in effect, white wishes to remove the TRUCE/FREEZE but has no move which places black in check. White being a "bad faith" player, decides on his own turn to move his king into check (he may or may not have an after-move card in his hand to "rescue" his king from check), the TRUCE/FREEZE is immediately cancelled because the white king is in check. White does NOT have anything that can rescue his king from check - white loses the game (his king is in check at the end of his turn). There is no "testing" check of the king to remove a TRUCE/FREEZE.

Therefore, the Touch-Move rule (used in regular chess tournament or competition) should be employed in knightmare chess - if a player touches a piece with his/her hands in a way that indicates they want to make a move, then no matter what happens, they must move that piece.

Therefore, the CHECKMATE RULE should be revised to explicitly state that a player loses when his king is in check at the end of his turn. E.g. A player can use his turn to place his king in check (intentionally or unintentionally), which thus results in him losing the game.
lucienpsmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.