Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-10-2019, 04:02 PM   #1
Ujeen
 
Join Date: May 2019
Default Stuck in chimney

Hello guys. I have French edition. The literal translation (FRA -> ENG) of the card says: "To use during any combat. A monster is automatically beaten. You don't win levels, but you win treasurers."
The question is : if it's "any combat" it should include a combat I am not involved in, shouldn't it? If so, can I really win some treasures for myself via this card during opponent's combat?

Last edited by Ujeen; 05-10-2019 at 04:14 PM.
Ujeen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2019, 07:30 PM   #2
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Stuck in chimney

The person fighting the monster gets the Treasures (and if they had a helper, they have to split them per the agreement).
__________________
Andrew Hackard, Munchkin Line Editor || New Munchkin player? Check out our Munchkin 101 forum!
#PlayMunchkin to get our attention on social media: Twitter || Facebook || Instagram || YouTube
Follow us on Kickstarter: Steve Jackson Games and Warehouse 23

Forum issues? Visit Forum Feedback and Help or email forums@sjames.com
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2019, 03:08 AM   #3
Ujeen
 
Join Date: May 2019
Default Re: Stuck in chimney

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Hackard View Post
The person fighting the monster gets the Treasures (and if they had a helper, they have to split them per the agreement).
Thank you very much Andrew. Now it's clear.
But since my understanding based on direct text on the card was different, can you please tell me, is the text on the card indeed a bit incorrect?
Ujeen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2019, 11:08 AM   #4
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Stuck in chimney

As is stated in the rules, the person fighting monsters always gets the rewards, even if someone else's ability is the one that defeats them. (The exception would be if a card explicitly says otherwise; this one does not.)
__________________
Andrew Hackard, Munchkin Line Editor || New Munchkin player? Check out our Munchkin 101 forum!
#PlayMunchkin to get our attention on social media: Twitter || Facebook || Instagram || YouTube
Follow us on Kickstarter: Steve Jackson Games and Warehouse 23

Forum issues? Visit Forum Feedback and Help or email forums@sjames.com
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.