Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-06-2020, 10:31 AM   #11
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Atlantean sword argument

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hobbs5212 View Post
Also that would mean that the item always has his protection whether it's in play in your hand or in any other situation. If it's the only card on the board and you have to sacrifice 500 coins you can just say I don't have $5 coins you can lie and there could be easily 500 coins in your hand. If you received bad stuff that forced you to swap hands with another player based on the moderators response the card itself is protected not you so it can't be lost
I didn't see this post before my previous response, so let me respond to it now.

As a general rule, cards in your hand are ONLY cards and don't have any effects or abilities until played. We have consistently ruled that cards in your hand are not targetable by Curses or Bad Stuff unless the specific effect mentions your hand.

For instance, if a Curse tells you to lose all your Armor, you don't have to discard Armor cards in your hand. This is also explained in the Munchkin FAQ.

Cards that are in play but not equipped usually don't have any of their abilities, either, but are vulnerable to effects that target them (for instance, if you're told to lose a small Item, an unequipped Item on the table is a valid target). There are some cards that say they have their effects even when only carried, not equipped, such as Rat on a Stick -- the implication is that other cards do NOT have their effects when not equipped.

So for your card that is protected from loss to Curse or Bad Stuff, that effect is only in play when the Item is equipped. If you're merely carrying it (in play but not active), the card is vulnerable. And if it's in your hand, it probably can't be targeted in the first place, unless the effect says that it includes cards in your hand.

Thread is reopened for further discussion, bearing in mind that we have been very consistent in these rulings over the years and I don't see us changing them now.
__________________
Andrew Hackard, Munchkin Line Editor
#PlayMunchkin on social media: Twitter || Facebook || Instagram || YouTube
Follow us on Kickstarter: Steve Jackson Games and Warehouse 23

Let people like what they like.
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.