Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > GURPS

Old 07-11-2014, 07:26 AM   #1
Arith Winterfell

Default New to GURPS and concerned about combat

I feel I'm relatively new to GURPS and I'm coming mostly from a D&D 3.5 / d20 experience of gaming. I'm really excited by GURPS's flexibility and creative freedom. In this post I'm going to probably make a number of references to d20, not because I'm being a fan of it, but because I'm trying to gauge differences in game systems as I adjust to GURPS from my previous experiences.

However I'm still getting down the combat system and am concerned about how to approach it when creating threats to the players characters. In D&D and d20 gaming character levels and Challenge Rating acted as guidelines to gauging whether or not a threat in combat was going to simply challenge or overwhelm your players. I'm mostly concerned about challenging players in a cinematic fantasy combat type game play, challenging them without overpowering them.

1. I'm having trouble grasping how the differences in GURPS game system effects survivability? Or how elements of combat rules shape the likelihood of getting hit and how hard?

For example, in d20 you roll to hit and if you beat an armor class number you hit. I've noticed in GURPS you not only roll to hit to see if you hit, but then your opponent defend rolls as well. How does the added die roll (for defending) shape combat? Overall are you more likely to see characters hit less often on both sides of a fight?