Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > The Fantasy Trip

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-17-2019, 11:38 PM   #1
JimmyPlenty
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Default Clarifications needed please

Just a few I can't find the answer to...

1d-2 ... minimum damage? or is a roll of two equal zero damage? It reads that way, though not specifically. I just had a guy in playtest do double damage for no damage making me want to recheck is all.

Spells of multiple levels, (Staff I, Staff II...etc) do not require prerequisites of the previous spell?

Thanks all

Last edited by JimmyPlenty; 09-18-2019 at 12:12 AM.
JimmyPlenty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2019, 12:50 AM   #2
Skarg
 
Join Date: May 2015
Default Re: Clarifications needed please

Yes, weapons that have a negative part do zero damage if the negative part is equal or greater than the roll. The injury was not enough to count as a point of damage.

Most spells that come in various levels include the less powerful levels when you learn the more powerful version. e.g. Creation spells as described on ITL p.137.

Staff is an exception which does require the lower levels to learn a higher level. (See the end of the description of Staff on ITL p.18).
Skarg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2019, 07:54 AM   #3
hcobb
 
hcobb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Pacheco, California
Default Re: Clarifications needed please

The two summon dragon spells are completely independent of each other. Knowing one gives no benefit with the other.
__________________
-HJC
hcobb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2019, 05:58 PM   #4
Skarg
 
Join Date: May 2015
Default Re: Clarifications needed please

Quote:
Originally Posted by hcobb View Post
The two summon dragon spells are completely independent of each other. Knowing one gives no benefit with the other.
Good question for the Hexagram 3 errata then. The 1981 Codex listed Summon Dragon as including Summon Small Dragon.
Skarg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2019, 12:32 AM   #5
Axly Suregrip
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Default Re: Clarifications needed please

Hi Jimmy,
And missile spells with a minus (Magic Fist and Fireball), do a minimum damage equal to the number of dice. These are the only things in the game with a minimum damage.

So, a 3 die Magic Fist with a roll of 8 would do 3 damage instead of 2 (3 dice -6).
Axly Suregrip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2019, 01:44 AM   #6
JimmyPlenty
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Default Re: Clarifications needed please

Thanks for the feedback all!
JimmyPlenty is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.