Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-25-2013, 01:24 PM   #1
AttilatheNun
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Default Cheat! and One Time Use Items

Since the most common use of the Cheat! card is to remove a restriction from an item, a while back a friend of mine tried to use it to remove the Usable Once Only restriction from one of his items, effectively making the item a permanent piece of equipment. Being the game owner, I allowed it at the time, but the ruling has never quite sat right with me. I'd just like to know whether there's an official ruling on this. I couldn't find anything in the FAQ or errata.
AttilatheNun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2013, 01:29 PM   #2
Mister Ed
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Portland, Oregon
Default Re: Cheat! and One Time Use Items

Here's the entry on Cheat! from the "READ THIS FIRST" thread...

Quote:
The Cheat! card causes some confusion, so here's a list of everything that it can do:

It lets you use another Hand Item when your hands are full, OR
It lets you use another piece of Armor when you're already wearing Armor, OR
It lets you use another piece of Headgear when you're already wearing Headgear, OR
It lets you use another piece of Footgear when you're already wearing Footgear, OR
It lets you carry another Big Item (and use it, too) when you already have reached your limit, OR
It lets you use an extra Complex Item, OR
It lets you have an extra Steed, OR
It lets you have an extra Ship, OR
It lets you use an Item that your current Class/Race/Loyalty/Accent/Mojo/gender can not use, OR
It lets you use an Item that some other card's effect says you can't, OR
It lets you use a Steed/Ship/Hireling Enhancer that is an Item on its own (i.e., not played on a Steed/Ship/Hireling), OR
It works with any other card or promotional item that specifically says, or comes with rules which specifically say, that you can use it to do something related to that card or promotional item (e.g., Hireling cards, T-shirts).
So, no, it doesn't change One-shots into permanent items.
Mister Ed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2013, 01:37 PM   #3
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Cheat! and One Time Use Items

It doesn't change the fundamental properties of an Item -- one-shots are still one-shots, and Big items are still Big. The simplest way to explain it is, when you're checking your character for legal layout, you don't look at Cheated items.
__________________
Andrew Hackard, Munchkin Line Editor
#PlayMunchkin on social media: Twitter || Facebook || Instagram || YouTube
Follow us on Kickstarter: Steve Jackson Games and Warehouse 23

Let people like what they like.
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2013, 01:38 PM   #4
AttilatheNun
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Default Re: Cheat! and One Time Use Items

Aha, thank you. Didn't realize there'd be rules clarifications in there, thanks for the help.
AttilatheNun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 01:00 PM   #5
by_dome
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Default Re: Cheat! and One Time Use Items

Hey everyone!

Still have some doubts about the use of a cheat card on several particular Items, like the Matching Equipment Set in particular.

Does it let me completely use the complete Set or only a new set of footgear/arms/headgear per se?

We had this controversy as in which part of my body the cheat would take effect.

So falling into the very same logic, What about a Hireling? Can a Hireling use the complete set from that card and still carry a big item for you? or does he get to carry the armor of the set (i.e) and the rest is up to you (losing remaining extremities)?

Any guidance will be highly appreciated.

Last edited by by_dome; 06-28-2013 at 01:01 PM. Reason: forgot something
by_dome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 01:08 PM   #6
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Cheat! and One Time Use Items

When you are checking your character for legality, you COMPLETELY IGNORE a Cheated item. If you Cheat! the Matching Equipment Set, none of its properties count against your allowable Items. (And the same is true if you put it on your Hireling.)
__________________
Andrew Hackard, Munchkin Line Editor
#PlayMunchkin on social media: Twitter || Facebook || Instagram || YouTube
Follow us on Kickstarter: Steve Jackson Games and Warehouse 23

Let people like what they like.
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 03:18 PM   #7
by_dome
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Default Re: Cheat! and One Time Use Items

That was really helpful, Thanks for clarifying this.
by_dome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 09:33 PM   #8
by_dome
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Default Re: Cheat! and One Time Use Items

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Hackard View Post
When you are checking your character for legality, you COMPLETELY IGNORE a Cheated item. If you Cheat! the Matching Equipment Set, none of its properties count against your allowable Items. (And the same is true if you put it on your Hireling.)
My friend still doubts this is accurate, he says you ain't no moderator, and the faq completely overules anything.

I know what I read, but, can you please list another moderators and their opinion on what a cheat is?

Sorry if I'm asking for too much
by_dome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 09:41 PM   #9
All_Thumbs
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Default Re: Cheat! and One Time Use Items

So he's read the FAQ. Has he read the READ ME FIRST post? Its very first entry clearly states who's who in the hierarchy.
All_Thumbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 09:46 PM   #10
by_dome
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Default Re: Cheat! and One Time Use Items

Quote:
Originally Posted by All_Thumbs View Post
So he's read the FAQ. Has he read the READ ME FIRST post? Its very first entry clearly states who's who in the hierarchy.
I know, you are totally right, at least I did, and I know, but he's game, he's rules.

He even told me about the ruling of the coin, that it changes every month or so, but he never read the README
by_dome is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cheat

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.