Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-22-2013, 06:08 PM   #1
rosesand
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Default Requesting a Ruling (Booty) - Curse vs. Cheated Enhancer

In a recent game a player had used a Cheat card to play a ship enhancer on an item rather than onto a ship (he had none in play).

He then had the "Curse: Waterspout" played on him, which reads in the body text something along the lines of your ship loses all of its enhancers while the footer reads "Lose Ship Enhancers!".

After a persuasive argument (and pointing out that the body text specifically mentioned your ship) we let the dice decide whether the enhancer would be lost, or whether the Curse! could be withdrawn.

My questions here are:
* Does a Cheat card to place a Ship Enhancer on an item mean that it is still a Ship Enhancer or does it become an Item Enhancer?
* Does the body text (your ship loses etc). affect the effect of the card, or is it just flavour?
* What should have been the result of the Curse! Waterspout being played on a Cheated Ship Enhancer?
rosesand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 06:37 PM   #2
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: Requesting a Ruling (Booty) - Curse vs. Cheated Enhancer

The Ship Enhancer does remain a Ship Enhancer, even though it is not attached to a Ship.

I'm not sure how to treat Curse! Waterspout, though. The two statements are slightly at odds with each other. If we take the main (large text) curse description alone, then a Ship Enhancer attached to a different Item via Cheat! would be discarded and a normal Item Enhancer attached to a Ship would not be discarded. If we take the clarification sentence alone, which states that all ships lose any Enhancers, then the opposite occurs - a Ship Enhancer attached to a different Item via Cheat! would be kept and a normal Item Enhancer attached to a Ship would be discarded.

I really can't pick which method to follow. I'll leave it to the professionals to let us know the intent, I guess.
__________________
My unofficial, but comprehensive Flowcharts: Munchkin: A4 Letter; Munchkin Quest: A4 Letter
Rules Checklist for all Munchkin sets: A4 Letter.
Clipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 06:41 PM   #3
Blazinjsin
 
Blazinjsin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Baltimore, MD
Default Re: Requesting a Ruling (Booty) - Curse vs. Cheated Enhancer

The Cheat card allows you to play the enhancer by itself, not on another item (as far as I know). Essentially you just have a free floating ship enhancer following you around. While in play, the card is still a ship enhancer, so something that made you lose a ship enhancer would still get rid of it.

Edit: I see I typed too slow
__________________
(╯□)╯︵ ┻━┻ I am King of Munchkin Mountain!!!

Check out my trades ( ͡ ͜ʖ ͡) 🍕
Blazinjsin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 07:30 PM   #4
rosesand
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Default Re: Requesting a Ruling (Booty) - Curse vs. Cheated Enhancer

Blazinjsin: While I agree with the method of putting it down, its the text on the Curse card that is causing the confusion, while the effect text at the bottom is lose ship enhancers, the text in the body does mention "your ship".
rosesand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 08:03 PM   #5
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: Requesting a Ruling (Booty) - Curse vs. Cheated Enhancer

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blazinjsin View Post
The Cheat card allows you to play the enhancer by itself, not on another item (as far as I know).
I was going to argue against this, but I see you are correct. The methods of use for Cheat! used to list attaching Item/Ship/Steed/Hireling Enhancers that are Items to things they aren't meant to be able to attach to, but that has been reworded to only allow you to play them alone. I thought both methods were OK, but I'm mistaken. I guess it makes sense as there is rarely any reason to attach an Enhancer to something when you are allowed to attach it to nothing.
__________________
My unofficial, but comprehensive Flowcharts: Munchkin: A4 Letter; Munchkin Quest: A4 Letter
Rules Checklist for all Munchkin sets: A4 Letter.
Clipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 10:36 PM   #6
rosesand
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Default Re: Requesting a Ruling (Booty) - Curse vs. Cheated Enhancer

Yes, being able to play it on its own deals with #1.

Sadly the body of the card (and #2) would still be confusing had the enhancer been played on its own, as the Curse! card still contradicts itself in this case.
rosesand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 10:45 PM   #7
Blazinjsin
 
Blazinjsin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Baltimore, MD
Default Re: Requesting a Ruling (Booty) - Curse vs. Cheated Enhancer

I guess we'll have to wait for Andrew or MunchkinMan to rule on the contradictory language
__________________
(╯□)╯︵ ┻━┻ I am King of Munchkin Mountain!!!

Check out my trades ( ͡ ͜ʖ ͡) 🍕
Blazinjsin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 10:51 PM   #8
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: Requesting a Ruling (Booty) - Curse vs. Cheated Enhancer

Actually, I just realised that there is one way to handle the card that does not make it contradictory... do both! Lose all your Ship Enhancers and any type of Enhancer currently attached to any of your Ships!

There are other curses that provide additional affects in their explanatory text that doesn't reference the title text (e.g., many of the "Lose a Level" curses, like Curse! Lose Your Lucky Die from De-Ranged), so we could treat this one the same way. This would be my most preferred method in the absence of an official ruling.
__________________
My unofficial, but comprehensive Flowcharts: Munchkin: A4 Letter; Munchkin Quest: A4 Letter
Rules Checklist for all Munchkin sets: A4 Letter.

Last edited by Clipper; 01-22-2013 at 10:55 PM.
Clipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 07:03 AM   #9
rosesand
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Default Re: Requesting a Ruling (Booty) - Curse vs. Cheated Enhancer

I am interested to see what the official ruling is, but yes, I think house ruling that the body text is flavour, and not part of the ruling may be the sensible way to go.

FYI: Just made it home so can check the exact text of the card. The body text reads: "All yer Ships lose any Enhancers that they have".
rosesand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 09:51 AM   #10
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Requesting a Ruling (Booty) - Curse vs. Cheated Enhancer

Since the body text is not always flavor text, that's a risky proposition. In this case, it just so happens that the body text is a direct instruction, not flavor at all, so I'd feel more inclined to pay more attention to what it is saying over something else.

So, you can keep your Cheated Ship Enhancer, so long as it's not attached to a ship (though, for the moment, I can't recall a need to play Cheat! on a Ship Enhancer in order to play it on a ship).
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
booty, cheat, curse, question, rule

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.