Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-03-2016, 10:21 AM   #1
ntuni
 
ntuni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Default two handed sword with cheat

If I cheat the two handed sword (which you must hold with one hand but gives you two extra hands) would I now have two extra hands instead of the usual one? the card states that it takes up -1 hand, but I see this as being the net amount of hands that the card takes up. logic would dictate that cheating it would mean I don't need to hold it in my hand and thus I would get two hands from it. Is this correct?
ntuni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2016, 11:14 AM   #2
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: two handed sword with cheat

Even though it might seem like only flavor text, the card's text gives a very concrete explanation that would work in game terms to explain why it is normally a -1 Hand Item. Cheat! would technically make it a -2 Hand Item, but if someone wants to give you a hard time about it, you could just use Cheat! on another Hand Item and then the net effect is exactly the same.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2016, 11:35 AM   #3
ntuni
 
ntuni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Default Re: two handed sword with cheat

Thanks! That's what i thought it should be
ntuni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2016, 11:52 AM   #4
Mister Ed
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Portland, Oregon
Default Re: two handed sword with cheat

Good to know. I honestly cannot recall if we've played this correctly in the past.

EDIT: Thanks for deleting my earlier post. For some reason, even though I checked, I thought this was in the regular Munchkin forum, not 101 (probably saw the "Munchkin" section heading, and somehow missed the "Munckin 101" line below that). If I had realized this was 101, I wouldn't have put my speculation in. Sorry.

Last edited by Mister Ed; 05-03-2016 at 11:59 AM.
Mister Ed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2016, 12:07 PM   #5
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: two handed sword with cheat

I disagree with the previous answer. Cheat! allows you to use something you couldn't otherwise use, but the "you are holding this in one hand" is flavor text, not an actual rule. You would still get the benefit of one extra Hand, but not two.
__________________
Andrew Hackard, Munchkin Line Editor
#PlayMunchkin on social media: Twitter || Facebook || Instagram || YouTube
Follow us on Kickstarter: Steve Jackson Games and Warehouse 23

Let people like what they like.
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2016, 01:00 PM   #6
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: two handed sword with cheat

Today's my day to be out of it, apparently. Andrew's correct. Which means my basic statement about using Cheat! on another Hand Item gets the net effect you're looking for is probably the only thing in my post worthwhile.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cheat

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.