Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-07-2011, 05:38 AM   #1
Clown
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Default "Cheat wbh" and "pixie potion" question.

Cheat with both hands:
When you use the card cheat with both hands and one of the two items get STOLEN what happens to the CWBHs card? Can I still cheat with my remaining weapon? And for the big questin if yes on the above, can I add a new item after one have been stolen?

Pixie Potion (fairy dust)
Card says: +5 in combat. When you play this card, roll a die. On a ... 4 or more return it to your hand.
So question is if you can use this card multiple times in the same combat? The card does not say "even in the same combat". But it do say when you play, roll.

Hope someone can answer, it got very loud last night;)
Clown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2011, 05:41 AM   #2
Eben
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: South Dakota
Default Re: "Cheat wbh" and "pixie potion" question.

CWBH stays attached to the other item. You can add another item.

To the best of my knowledge, cards like the Pixie Potion are meant to be used once per combat. But I can see how it might be implied that you can keep reusing it till you fail the roll.
__________________
MIB 7483
Center Point, AL
Eben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2011, 08:53 AM   #3
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: "Cheat wbh" and "pixie potion" question.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eben View Post
To the best of my knowledge, cards like the Pixie Potion are meant to be used once per combat. But I can see how it might be implied that you can keep reusing it till you fail the roll.
Andrew and I probably need to discuss this one. I've ruled that you roll then apply the affects after combat is over, but I'm not entirely sure that was the intent. The ability to use something in the next combat has been stated on other cards, and I can't decide, today, if it feels like that text is missing, or intentionally not there. If it's intentional, then the card is a bit confusing.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2011, 10:30 AM   #4
Clown
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Default Re: "Cheat wbh" and "pixie potion" question.

I ruled that you get the +5 in current combat and you roll after the fight is done to get it back in your hand. My logic was that the card does NOT say "even in the same combat".

Thanks for helping out. Looking forward to you conclusion.
Clown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 10:35 AM   #5
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: "Cheat wbh" and "pixie potion" question.

The intent of Pixie Potion is that you roll once the fight is over. It should have been clearer.
__________________
Andrew Hackard, Munchkin Line Editor
#PlayMunchkin on social media: Twitter || Facebook || Instagram || YouTube
Follow us on Kickstarter: Steve Jackson Games and Warehouse 23

Let people like what they like.
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cheat, pixie, potion

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.