Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin Collectible Card Game

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-22-2019, 08:31 PM   #1
Majobasil
 
Majobasil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: West Virginia, USA
Default Rule question - Gambeson of Gambling

Can this card be Zapped and used without being in response to damage?

The cost of the card is simply to zap it. Zapping on this card allows one to roll the dice.

So can it simply be Zapped to force a die roll?
Majobasil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2019, 10:40 PM   #2
Malkavman
 
Malkavman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Topeka, KS
Default Re: Rule question - Gambeson of Gambling

From the rules on the CCG website:

"Armor has abilities that relate to damage that is being dealt (dealing, preventing, and healing)."

Which means that armor abilities must be in response to damage.

The Gambeson is also an interrupt, so there has to be a previous action to interrupt.

This is my interpretation, and I will stand by it unless corrected by a higher up in the Munchkin Braintrust; at which time I would slink off and wallow in my wrongness.
__________________
-Brandon Murphy
MiB 0787

"I wouldn't even take a whiz on this! I used to DREAM of taking a whiz on this!" - The Monarch
Malkavman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2019, 08:40 AM   #3
Majobasil
 
Majobasil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: West Virginia, USA
Default Re: Rule question - Gambeson of Gambling

Id greatly appreciate an official response from a mod or SJ Games employee !
Majobasil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2019, 04:03 PM   #4
Aleph
Administrator
 
Aleph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: The Central Network
Default Re: Rule question - Gambeson of Gambling

From the Abilities Section of the rules:

Quote:
II.A.1. Abilities - Either player may activate abilities during any player's turn after the unzap step is complete. Abilities may not be activated prior to the active player's unzap step or during any cooldown phase, though some may trigger automatically.
Quote:
II.A.1.a. Resolving Abilities - Interrupt abilities can be played even if another ability has been paid for and is in the process of resolving. If this happens, the Interrupt ability resolves first. Interrupts can be played on other Interrupt abilities, in which case the most recently played Interrupt resolves first, followed by the next, and so on.
Quote:
II.A.1.a. Resolving Abilities - An ability is resolved when its effect has been completed to the fullest extent possible. If an ability cannot resolve completely, any unresolved portion of that ability has no effect.
So, with those in mind, you should be able to use the Gambeson's ability on it's own, or to interrupt another ability. You would Zap the Gambeson and roll the die. If the interrupted ability was not causing you damage, then nothing would happen on a 2-6 of the die roll, because there would be no damage to prevent.

I assume you are not trying to find creative ways to damage yourself, so to anticipate the follow-up question, yes, this die roll can trigger the effects of cards like High Roller, Lucky Giant's Toe, and Liar's Dice.
Aleph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2019, 06:38 PM   #5
Majobasil
 
Majobasil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: West Virginia, USA
Default Re: Rule question - Gambeson of Gambling

As always, thank you, Aleph!
Majobasil is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.