Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > GURPS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-21-2019, 12:31 PM   #1
PIELIKEI
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Default [Powers] Multiple Reflexive During Combat

How would Reflexive work for multiple abilities?

Currently I'm building a character with three separate reflexive abilities:
  • A Binding Attack
  • A malediction that afflicts someone with 10 DR
  • An innate attack force wall with no wounding modifiers etc.

If I'm being attacked would all three abilities trigger if I'm hit?
Would I (as the player) get to choose which ability triggers? Or one at random?

If I attempted an active defense (like dodge) and fail, would the effects still trigger reflexively (assuming I made the roll)?

If I used the ability during my turn (such as, if I already applied 10 DR to myself) would it still trigger reflexively?

Would reflexive abilities trigger on each attack? Or just once per turn?

If I have Cosmic Parry, would reflexive abilities (or even normal Cosmic Power Parries) work against a critical hit?
PIELIKEI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2019, 12:47 PM   #2
Refplace
 
Refplace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Yukon, OK
Default Re: [Powers] Multiple Reflexive During Combat

I think you misunderstand Reflexive.
Its a modifier (GURPS Powers, p109) for defenses not attacks.
Basically it lets you activate a defense as a Free Action instead of taking a Ready or Concentrate maneuver. Its later applied to sensory powers as well so a Detect (for example) can turn itself on to alert you of something.
If it were applied to an attack it would still require an attack to use, just be available faster.
__________________
Looking for group in my area
My GURPS official contributions
My GURPS fan contribution and blog:
REFPLace GURPS Landing Page
My List of GURPS You Tube videos (plus a few other useful items)
My GURPS Wiki entries
Refplace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2019, 12:52 PM   #3
Mark Skarr
Forum Pervert
(If you have to ask . . .)
 
Mark Skarr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Default Re: [Powers] Multiple Reflexive During Combat

My interpretation:

You'd have to define the reflexive trigger as "being attacked" for the bind.

Quote:
Originally Posted by PIELIKEI View Post
If I'm being attacked would all three abilities trigger if I'm hit?
You would make the reflexive check for each one, in an order determined by you, but this order would be permanent.

Quote:
Originally Posted by PIELIKEI View Post
Would I (as the player) get to choose which ability triggers? Or one at random?
No, they are reflexive, they all try to trigger.

Quote:
Originally Posted by PIELIKEI View Post
If I attempted an active defense (like dodge) and fail, would the effects still trigger reflexively (assuming I made the roll)?
I would still say yes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by PIELIKEI View Post
If I used the ability during my turn (such as, if I already applied 10 DR to myself) would it still trigger reflexively?
No, it's already been used once this turn. Unless it has Rapid Fire it would only be used once.

Quote:
Originally Posted by PIELIKEI View Post
Would reflexive abilities trigger on each attack? Or just once per turn?
Like I said above, only with Rapid Fire.

Quote:
Originally Posted by PIELIKEI View Post
If I have Cosmic Parry, would reflexive abilities (or even normal Cosmic Power Parries) work against a critical hit?
No, you'd have to have Cosmic on the power as well to allow that. You'd need both.
Mark Skarr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2019, 12:56 PM   #4
PIELIKEI
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Default Re: [Powers] Multiple Reflexive During Combat

Quote:
Originally Posted by Refplace View Post
I think you misunderstand Reflexive.
Its a modifier (GURPS Powers, p109) for defenses not attacks.
Is there a place where defense is defined? I'm probably wrong but I thought that my abilities would be counted as defenses? There really isn't much attacking you can do with the 10DR Malediction or a force wall that deals no damage so I kinda just assumed they counted. Feel free to correct me on this.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Refplace View Post
Basically it lets you activate a defense as a Free Action instead of taking a Ready or Concentrate maneuver. Its later applied to sensory powers as well so a Detect (for example) can turn itself on to alert you of something.
If it were applied to an attack it would still require an attack to use, just be available faster.
Ok, let's suppose that is true, if I had reflexive
  • Insubstantiality
  • Warp
  • Damage Reduction (Switchable)

instead of the things I listed above, how would reflexive work then?
PIELIKEI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2019, 01:01 PM   #5
PIELIKEI
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Default Re: [Powers] Multiple Reflexive During Combat

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Skarr View Post
You'd have to define the reflexive trigger as "being attacked" for the bind.
Using it like the Power Parry rules to reduce dice of damage, so I feel that would work.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Skarr View Post
No, it's already been used once this turn. Unless it has Rapid Fire it would only be used once.
[...]
Like I said above, only with Rapid Fire.
That makes sense

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Skarr View Post
No, you'd have to have Cosmic on the power as well to allow that. You'd need both.
Ahh ok. I do have Cosmic on the power so that would work

Last edited by PIELIKEI; 08-21-2019 at 01:11 PM. Reason: Misquote
PIELIKEI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2019, 01:01 PM   #6
Nereidalbel
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Default Re: [Powers] Multiple Reflexive During Combat

Quote:
Originally Posted by PIELIKEI View Post
Ok, let's suppose that is true, if I had reflexive
  • Insubstantiality
  • Warp
  • Damage Reduction (Switchable)

instead of the things I listed above, how would reflexive work then?
You would become insubstantial, teleport away, and your DR would turn itself on the first time you got hit. You'd still have to roll to see where your Warp goes, or if it succeeds at all.
Nereidalbel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2019, 01:05 PM   #7
PIELIKEI
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Default Re: [Powers] Multiple Reflexive During Combat

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nereidalbel View Post
You would become insubstantial, teleport away, and your DR would turn itself on the first time you got hit. You'd still have to roll to see where your Warp goes, or if it succeeds at all.
Yeah that makes sense.


Thanks all!
PIELIKEI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2019, 01:06 PM   #8
Mark Skarr
Forum Pervert
(If you have to ask . . .)
 
Mark Skarr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Default Re: [Powers] Multiple Reflexive During Combat

Quote:
Originally Posted by PIELIKEI View Post
Using it like the Power Parry rules to reduce dice of damage, so I feel that would work.
In general, I'd allow this. However, I'd have to play around with it to determine if it's too cheap for what it does. But, I don't have a conceptual problem with it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nereidalbel View Post
You would become insubstantial, teleport away, and your DR would turn itself on the first time you got hit. You'd still have to roll to see where your Warp goes, or if it succeeds at all.
Yeah, this, pretty much.
Mark Skarr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2019, 01:12 PM   #9
PIELIKEI
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Default Re: [Powers] Multiple Reflexive During Combat

Sorry... last questions I promise. You all have been a great help!


Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Skarr View Post
You would make the reflexive check for each one, in an order determined by you, but this order would be permanent.
To be clear, if I set it at Wall > Binding > DR increase.
If the Wall blocks it, the binding and DR increase still triggers?

In addition with Power Parry rules (P.168) it states
Quote:
1d of Innate Attack, one level of Affliction, and five levels of Binding are equivalent for the specific purpose of negating one another; e.g., Affliction 8 reduces Innate Attack 10d to 2d, and Binding 20 reduces Innate Attack 10d to 6d and Affliction 8 to Affliction 4
If the wall stops the sword, would the binding still affect them the way normal binding (ST contest etc...) would? Or just reduce the non-existent attack now?

If the enemy attacks me in C,1 there is no way for the wall to interpose and still offer me protection (It is 1 yard thick). Does that mean that the wall would interject only 2 hexes away or more? Or would the wall still try and trigger at close combat and fail?
PIELIKEI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2019, 01:19 PM   #10
Mark Skarr
Forum Pervert
(If you have to ask . . .)
 
Mark Skarr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Default Re: [Powers] Multiple Reflexive During Combat

Ack! It changed while I was responding, have to start over.

Quote:
Originally Posted by PIELIKEI View Post
To be clear, if I set it at Wall > Binding > DR increase.
If the Wall blocks it, the binding and DR increase still triggers?
Yes, however, the DR increase only stacks once unless it has Cumulative.

Quote:
Originally Posted by PIELIKEI View Post
If the wall stops the sword, would the binding still affect them the way normal binding (ST contest etc...) would? Or just reduce the non-existent attack now?
I'd just say that the bind splatters across the wall with no effect.

Quote:
Originally Posted by PIELIKEI View Post
If the enemy attacks me in C,1 there is no way for the wall to interpose and still offer me protection (It is 1 yard thick). Does that mean that the wall would interject only 2 hexes away or more? Or would the wall still try and trigger at close combat and fail?
Okay, for this, I would allow the wall to form between both of you, and you'd both take knockback from the strength of the wall. No damage from the wall forming, but you'd be potentially knocked away from each other. Involuntary movement. This could still be really, really bad.
Mark Skarr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.