Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > GURPS > GURPS Character Assistant

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-24-2019, 02:25 AM   #1
Magic_Octopus
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Default Runtime error 13

I created a character, saved it, and when I'm opening it, the program crashes.

I have tracked the problem so that I created the character incrementally. I am not a programmer, so I don't know if this was useful or not.
I saved the character into a different file after each step.
Then closed the file and re-opened it.

1st just the attributes
2nd attributes and advantages
3rd attributes, advantages and disadvantages
4th attributes, advantages, disadvantages and skills

Loading the 4th save file caused the crash, so adding the skills corrupted the file?

Also, the 3rd save file was also corrupted after I added Gigantism to the disadvantages (even though I didn't add the skills yet).

What do?
Magic_Octopus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2019, 04:30 AM   #2
Celjabba
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Default Re: Runtime error 13

I think (on my phone so hard to check) that it can happen with a windows using non-english character set , or using comma instead of decimal dot. Is this your case ?
Celjabba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2019, 04:39 AM   #3
Magic_Octopus
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Default Re: Runtime error 13

Yes, I'm in Finland, so we have and and the desimal comma.

What could I do about this issue?
Magic_Octopus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2019, 05:45 AM   #4
Celjabba
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Default Re: Runtime error 13

Try switching the system to a setting with decimal dot, and retry the breaking step.

If it work, then at some point GCA save the file and put an unexpected comma that break the save.
(it is a know bug)

If this is the problem, then you can either
-manually edit the savegame to track down and eradicate the comma. (its just a text file)
-switch setting to decimal dot when using GCA. (possibly create a new user account just for using GCA ?)

Unless someone have a better suggestion :)

Here is the thread with the same problem, also with a Finnish system ...

http://forums.sjgames.com/showthread.php?t=129219
Celjabba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2019, 10:17 AM   #5
Armin
GCA Prime
 
Armin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Default Re: Runtime error 13

This is, unfortunately, an ongoing problem. I'm very sorry about that.

The only lasting solution for now, as Celjabba mentioned, is to run GCA with settings that use a period instead of a comma for the decimal separator. If you manually fix the problem but don't change settings, it'll just save it again the same way, causing the same error.
__________________
Armin D. Sykes | My GCA page
I am working on the new GCA as fast as my life allows. I post updates here.
Armin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2019, 11:05 AM   #6
Magic_Octopus
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Default Re: Runtime error 13

That was it, thanks for the help!
Magic_Octopus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.