Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-02-2010, 11:00 AM   #11
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Clarification for Munchkin Fu

If the Great Wall is played, that's the Run Away result unless someone else has a card or ability that says "even if the attempt was automatic."

If the attempt is resolved, automatically or otherwise, then it's too late for Great Wall to be played.

As with all other things in Munchkin, there's no "stack" -- you resolve events as they happen. A card or ability has to be EXPLICIT that it violates this rule, as with the various cards that can be played after a Run Away attempt is made.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2017, 02:55 PM   #12
RWBYWhistler138
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Default Re: Clarification for Munchkin Fu

If I am losing a battle against a monster and i fail to run away woth a roll. Haiku fu lends me 1 minute to make a poem to automaticly escape correct? Because my brother says that if i fail to run away i cant use haiku fu if i roll to run away. It says if you lose combat not if you are losing a combat. I believe if you fail to run away that is when u lose a combat. Can i get advice on this.
RWBYWhistler138 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2017, 02:47 AM   #13
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Clarification for Munchkin Fu

Once you have rolled to Run Away, you cannot use Haiku Fu. It doesn't say it can change a failed roll into a success, so you can't.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2018, 12:53 PM   #14
RWBYWhistler138
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Default Re: Clarification for Munchkin Fu

I get it doesnt change i run away roll but once i have rolled to run away and fail i have lost the battle and that is what haiku fu says correct? Once you lose?
RWBYWhistler138 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2018, 04:34 PM   #15
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Clarification for Munchkin Fu

Quote:
Originally Posted by RWBYWhistler138 View Post
I get it doesnt change i run away roll but once i have rolled to run away and fail i have lost the battle and that is what haiku fu says correct? Once you lose?
You lose the fight before you Run Away. Once you decide to Run Away, combat is over.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.