Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-06-2019, 01:58 PM   #1
Really Impressive Title
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Default Do I REALLY understand Portals?

I’m pretty new to Munchkin but I have dived (diven? doved?) head first into understanding all the ins and outs of its deceptively simple rules — and loving every minute of it. And while I’ve meticulously read through the FAQ’s, researched erratas and studied each instruction manual, there is still one aspect of the game’s expanded ruleset that I can’t quite locked down: EXACTLY, under what specific circumstances, can you LEGALLY “draw” Portal cards, play them, and then draw a replacement Door card?


The instructions read:

“When you draw a Portal FACE UP, you must immediately follow
its instructions…

Obviously referring to ‘Kick Open the Door’… but there are other situations where cards are face up… let’s keep reading.

”After you follow the Portal’s instructions, draw another FACE UP Door.

So redo the Door Kick. Got it. — But here’s where things get kinda hazy…

“When you draw a Portal FACE DOWN, you have a choice: (1) Turn it face up *immediately* and follow its instructions. After you follow the instructions, draw another FACE-DOWN Door. (2) Put it in your *hand*. You may play it later, but only if (a) it is your turn, (b) you are not in combat, and (c) you haven’t already played a Portal on that turn. When you play it, follow its instructions and *immediately* draw a FACE-DOWN Door.

Hmm, this is starting to get complicated…

Remember: When you play a Portal, you *always* draw another Door to replace it. If the original Portal was drawn FACE-UP, the replacement Door is FACE-UP. If the original Portal was FACE-DOWN, so is the replacement.”

Okay, so you could potentially ‘Kick Open’ 3, 5, or even 10 Doors in a single turn if each subsequent draw is a Portal. Interesting.

But what counts as “draw”, specifically? When is a card considered to be in my hand? — I guess what I’m really asking here is: What full range of definitions count as “draw” and “immediately” in relation to how Portals function. When is playing a Portal illegal (relating to general game rules or when one has already been played that turn), when does immediacy override that rule, and when, as a result, does it allow me to draw a replacement Door card?


Let me give some example situations to illustrate my confusion:

• A player dies and we loot his Hand (laid out on the table FACE UP). — Can I take a Portal card from the dead munchkin’s stash, immediately play it and draw a new Door card FACE-UP from the Door deck?

• If a player is Cursed! and I, sitting to their left, pick a random card from their hand (FACE DOWN) that happens to be a Portal and I immediately play it (if I can?), can I draw a new FACE-DOWN Door from the deck?

• If I use the “Wand of Dowsing” to search the discard pile for a Portal (FACE-UP), can I immediately play it and draw a new FACE-UP Door card?

• I’m a Cleric and I use my class technique to draw a discarded Portal. Can I immediately play it, draw a new Door card FACE UP, and have that count as my “Resurrection”? - Heck, the next card is a Portal, too! ...Can I do it again?? (Discarding two cards from my hand, of course)


Are any of these scenarios, as I’ve described them, illegal? Do any of them count as being played from the hand? (Therefore breaking the one-Portal-per-turn rule) Or does my immediacy in playing them mean that I can change/add dungeons and draw a new Door as much as I want, so long as the card doesn’t touch my fan of cards?

Or… am I just overthinking all this?? Any clarification at all would be awesome. 👍 (and thanks for reading!).
Really Impressive Title is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2019, 02:46 PM   #2
Brf
 
Brf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Default Re: Do I REALLY understand Portals?

If you are getting a card from someone else's hand, that is not a "draw". It goes into your hand, and then follows the rule about the portal being in your hand.

You are only allowed to play one portal per turn, so if you kick down the door and draw a portal and play it -- if you draw another portal you could not play it.
Brf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2019, 03:37 PM   #3
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Do I REALLY understand Portals?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brf View Post
If you are getting a card from someone else's hand, that is not a "draw". It goes into your hand, and then follows the rule about the portal being in your hand.
This is correct.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brf View Post
You are only allowed to play one portal per turn, so if you kick down the door and draw a portal and play it -- if you draw another portal you could not play it.
This is not, or at least is misleading.

If you Kick Down The Door and it's a Portal, you MUST play it and then kick down a replacement Door. If that Door is also a Portal, you MUST play it and then kick down a replacement Door. Lather, rinse, repeat.

If you have not already encountered a Portal on your turn, you may CHOOSE to play one from your hand and then draw a replacement face-down Door. You may not choose to play a second one, and you may not choose to play a face-down Portal if you already encountered one when you Kicked Down The Door.
__________________
Andrew Hackard, Munchkin Line Editor
#PlayMunchkin on social media: Twitter || Facebook || Instagram || YouTube
Follow us on Kickstarter: Steve Jackson Games and Warehouse 23

Let people like what they like.
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2019, 04:12 PM   #4
Brf
 
Brf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Default Re: Do I REALLY understand Portals?

Ah. So on the kick-down itself, you always have to play it.

It is only playing one from your hand that is forbidden, if you have already played one earlier that turn.
Brf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2019, 05:07 PM   #5
Really Impressive Title
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Default Re: Do I REALLY understand Portals?

That all makes perfect sense. -- Thank you, both!
Really Impressive Title is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.