Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-28-2012, 02:49 AM   #1
Vincentheartthrob
 
Vincentheartthrob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Ames, IA
Default Antimatter on a Ship with Ship Enhancers

So, I kicked in the door and got hit with Trap! Antimatter, and at the time all I have is the Starfurry ship +3 and the Quad-Mounted Laser +1. So according to this thread the ship turns to a -3 and I still get the bonuses from the enhancer which is unaffected giving me a -2 overall. My question comes in to play when looking at this thread however. Which states that when something is hit by Trap! Antimatter it is no longer considered an item. So, if it is no longer an item does that mean I have no ship and therefore cannot use my ship enhancers anymore? Because that then contradicts the ruling of the first thread I linked.

Simply put, what happens to item/ship enhancers when the item/ship is hit with Trap! Antimatter or Curse! Weapon Becomes Evil?

Last edited by Vincentheartthrob; 09-11-2012 at 04:56 PM.
Vincentheartthrob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2012, 02:56 AM   #2
Vincentheartthrob
 
Vincentheartthrob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Ames, IA
Default Re: Antimatter on a Ship with Ship Enhancers

Also, this is unrelated to my question, but I just wanted to say that my girlfriend and I recently discovered Munchkin through Tabletop on YouTube. We immediately became obsessed, and I just wanted to say I'm very happy this community exists and am happy to be a part of it. We really really enjoy Munchkin in all of its flavors and are so happy to have discovered this game!
Vincentheartthrob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2012, 03:44 AM   #3
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: Antimatter on a Ship with Ship Enhancers

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vincentheartthrob View Post
So the other day I was playing Star Munchkin. I kicked in the door and got cursed with Antimatter. At the time all I had was a ship with +4 and the Quad-Mounted Laser with Laser and Bobaser attached. So according to this thread the ship turns to a -4 and I still get the bonuses from the enhancer combo which is unaffected. My question comes in to play when looking at this thread however. Which states that when something is hit by Antimatter it is no longer considered an item. Sooooo if it is no longer an item does that mean I have no ship and therefore cannot use my ship enhancers anymore? Because that then contradicts the ruling of the first thread I linked. So which of these is correct? Thanks ahead of time for help with this confusing issue. :)
I think the two rulings are consistent with each other. The Ship Enhancers aren't affected, but the Ship is no longer an Item and cannot be used. Thus, you are not using the Ship and you do not get the bonuses from the Enhancers attached to it. Andrew's statement in the thread probably means that it is not a -13 penalty, but a -4 (i.e., the Ship Enhancers do not have their bonuses reversed).

There are also other situations where attachments can be attached to something they can't enhance, such as the Big Joe in Munchkin 4 which you can change your mind as to whether he is a Hireling or a Steed at any time. It has been ruled that while he's a Hireling, Steed Enhancers don't count, but they remain attached. This is similar to your situation, the Ship Enhancer is attached to something which is no longer a Ship, so its bonus is unaffected, but ignored when calculating combat strength.
__________________
My unofficial, but comprehensive Flowcharts: Munchkin: A4 Letter; Munchkin Quest: A4 Letter
Rules Checklist for all Munchkin sets: A4 Letter.

Last edited by Clipper; 07-28-2012 at 03:54 AM.
Clipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2012, 03:32 AM   #4
Vincentheartthrob
 
Vincentheartthrob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Ames, IA
Default Re: Antimatter on a Ship with Ship Enhancers

I would agree that the rulings are consistent if it weren't for the fact that in the first thread Andrew didn't disagree with what the original poster said. Which was that the enhancers still counted on the antimattered ship. That specific part is what I was looking for a ruling on.

So for example a +3 Starfurry with a +1 Quad-Mounted Laser and a +2 Laser attached gets hit by Trap! Antimatter.

Is it now:
1. A -3 ship with the enhancer still counting towards the total giving a net total of 0?
2. A -3 curse and the enhancer stays on the field and doesn't add anything since the original card is no longer an ship. If this is the case can it be attached to a different ship?
3. A -3 curse and the enhancer is discarded because the original ship is no longer an ship. This is what we ended up doing during our game.

The first thread agrees with the first possibility and the second thread agrees with either of the other two.

Last edited by Vincentheartthrob; 09-11-2012 at 05:14 PM.
Vincentheartthrob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 01:17 PM   #5
Vincentheartthrob
 
Vincentheartthrob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Ames, IA
Default Re: Antimatter on a Ship with Ship Enhancers

I guess I'll just take the advice the FAQ gives about the Kneepads of Allure, and take Trap! Antimatter out of my game and eat it! No one has to know! ;)

Last edited by Vincentheartthrob; 09-11-2012 at 05:16 PM.
Vincentheartthrob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 01:45 PM   #6
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Antimatter on a Ship with Ship Enhancers

This is going to require more thought than I can give it right now. Sorry.
__________________
Andrew Hackard, Munchkin Line Editor || New Munchkin player? Check out our Munchkin 101 forum!
#PlayMunchkin to get our attention on social media: Twitter || Facebook || Instagram || YouTube
Follow us on Kickstarter: Steve Jackson Games and Warehouse 23

Forum issues? Visit Forum Feedback and Help or email forums@sjames.com
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
antimatter, enhancer, ship

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.