Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > GURPS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-02-2016, 07:38 PM   #1
VariousRen
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Default [Sorcery] Super Mount Ally Question

A sorcerer in my game is looking to create an insubstantial mount that he can ride, mainly as a replacement for a physical mount that needs to be fed on long trips. We made it up as an ally and everything seemed good. A problem arose when we were thinking about the same idea scaled up, a mount that gives HUGE amounts of move, or flight, insubstantial, Force field DR, and so on. Should the rider have to buy those abilities as well with the granted by ally limitation? Should there be an additional limitation because you have to be on the mount and not just have the mount summoned?
__________________
I run a low fantasy GURPS game: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCdo...YLkfnhr3vYXpFg
World details on Obsidian Portal: https://the-fall-of-brekhan.obsidian...ikis/main-page
VariousRen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2016, 07:48 PM   #2
weby
 
weby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Default Re: [Sorcery] Super Mount Ally Question

It depends on how common the protection is. A huge mount will likely not fit in a dungeon. Thus if most of the fights happen in a dungeon an additional accessibility might be in order. But if your campaign has most fights be mounted then not.
__________________
--
weby's gaming stuff: http://weby.roto.nu
weby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2016, 11:31 PM   #3
Nereidalbel
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Default Re: [Sorcery] Super Mount Ally Question

Nope, just because your horse can fly doesn't mean you have to pay for Flight. Granted By Ally means you can use those abilities just because your Ally is nearby. Force Field DR will require Area Effect and Affects Others, while Insubstantial will require Can Carry Objects to affect passengers, though.
Nereidalbel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2016, 12:09 AM   #4
thulben
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay Area, CA
Default Re: [Sorcery] Super Mount Ally Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by VariousRen View Post
a mount that gives HUGE amounts of move, or flight, insubstantial, Force field DR, and so on. Should the rider have to buy those abilities as well with the granted by ally limitation?
Probably not. As another in this thread has stated, the Granted by familiar limitation means that the powers are conferred to you once you've made the accessibility roll for the Ally. So, if the mount merely being present confers those abilities to you, then yes, you'd take all of the relevant Abilities with the Granted by familiar limitation. However, if it's the familiar itself that has those abilities, then that just increases the point value of the Ally (and probably the point cost to you to have it as an Ally).

It gets a bit tricky if you get Insubstantial or DR as a function of riding on the mount. insubstantial specifically has the Can Carry Objects enhancement. Which, for the mount, you would be the object! So you'd just pay extra for the enhancement depending on how much extra weight as a function of its encumbrance level you'd expect to turn Insubstantial. Similarly, Damage Resistance has the Force Field enhancement that extends the DR to (among other things) "anything you are carrying". You could interpret that (again) as you being something the mount is carrying.
thulben is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
mount, question, sorcery, spell

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.