Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-02-2009, 04:42 AM   #1
dudestuffiscool
 
dudestuffiscool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Atlanta, Ga, USA, North America, Earth, Milky Way, Universe, Existance
Default Cowboy and level 9 ->10 with steed

The cowboy class states that if you have a steed, you may win by reaching level 9. Does this mean that the steed must be carried? if I "have" a steed in my hand, does it count? I don't like to assume, especially in Munchkin, but I don't know what I would do if this came up in an actual game. Thanks.
__________________
All treasures. First pick. ;)
dudestuffiscool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2009, 06:46 AM   #2
Progmode
 
Progmode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Grand Rapids, Mi
Default Re: Cowboy and level 9 ->10 with steed

Yes, the steed must be in play. If it's in your hand, you don't "have" it.
__________________
"Someone is, or is thinking about, talking to someone else about possibly doing something sometime in the future." - MunchkinMan
Progmode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2009, 12:40 PM   #3
dudestuffiscool
 
dudestuffiscool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Atlanta, Ga, USA, North America, Earth, Milky Way, Universe, Existance
Default Re: Cowboy and level 9 ->10 with steed

hmm....agreed to disagree. If I have a card that can help someone in combat, could it not be in my hand? Or are you simply saying this because that is your interpretation of the rules?
__________________
All treasures. First pick. ;)
dudestuffiscool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2009, 12:50 PM   #4
Cheese8242
 
Cheese8242's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Indiana
Default Re: Cowboy and level 9 ->10 with steed

Quote:
Originally Posted by dudestuffiscool
hmm....agreed to disagree. If I have a card that can help someone in combat, could it not be in my hand? Or are you simply saying this because that is your interpretation of the rules?
It's not a steed until it is in play, if it is a card in your hand then it's just that a card in your hand. So, Progmode is correct the steed needs to be in play for you to win at level 9. It would be a very cheap way to win otherwise.
__________________
Tim Williamson
MIB #4282

The Most Impressive Loser in the MQ Gauntlet
Cheese8242 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2009, 01:04 PM   #5
Progmode
 
Progmode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Grand Rapids, Mi
Default Re: Cowboy and level 9 ->10 with steed

Quote:
Originally Posted by dudestuffiscool
hmm....agreed to disagree. If I have a card that can help someone in combat, could it not be in my hand? Or are you simply saying this because that is your interpretation of the rules?
It isn't an interpretation, it is exactly what the rules say:
Quote:
Originally Posted by GBM Rules, under Items
An Item card in your hand does not count until you play it
Quote:
Originally Posted by GBM Rules, under Steeds
Steeds are Items, and follow normal Item rules.
So, Steeds, which are Items, don't count until you play them. If it's in your hand, it isn't played, thus doesn't count and doesn't activate the Cowboy ability.
__________________
"Someone is, or is thinking about, talking to someone else about possibly doing something sometime in the future." - MunchkinMan
Progmode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2009, 06:32 PM   #6
RL
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Colorado
Default Re: Cowboy and level 9 ->10 with steed

Cards in your hand are "cards" and are not items, curses, GUALs, etc. until you play them.
__________________
Check out my Munchkin trade post
RL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2020, 07:36 PM   #7
Gooommmmeee
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Default Re: Cowboy and level 9 ->10 with steed

Friend beat a monster as an outlaw with a steed. Afterwards switched classes to cowboy and claimed victory as he satisfied all the requirements,killing a monster to reach level 9 with a steed” does the cowboy class need to be in play before activating the ability or will class swapping win him from this scenario?
Gooommmmeee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2020, 06:46 PM   #8
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Cowboy and level 9 ->10 with steed

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gooommmmeee View Post
Friend beat a monster as an outlaw with a steed. Afterwards switched classes to cowboy and claimed victory as he satisfied all the requirements,killing a monster to reach level 9 with a steed” does the cowboy class need to be in play before activating the ability or will class swapping win him from this scenario?
Changing the Class after the combat is over doesn't let someone retroactively use that Class's abilities. If the player had changed the Class during the fight, then they could use the Cowboy ability to win . . . but the opponents could also play cards to stop the win, as the "reasonable time" would have reset once the new Class played.
__________________
Andrew Hackard, Munchkin Line Editor
If you have a question that isn't getting answered, we have a thread for that.

Let people like what they like. Don't be a gamer hater.

#PlayMunchkin on social media: Twitter || Facebook || Instagram || YouTube
Follow us on Kickstarter: Steve Jackson Games and Warehouse 23
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.