Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-16-2020, 03:48 AM   #1
Takius
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Default Wandering monster against a helper

So I’ve been doing some research and I see there is a difference between “will not pursue” and “will not attack”, and I’ve seen things that state such as the amazon that if one helper is female the wandering monster leaves a treasure and walks away. But what if the wandering monster that is played “doesn’t attack a player who is level 5 or below” and the person it being played on is level 6 but the helper is only 4? Wouldn’t hypothetically the monster still attack the main player but not the helper? Similar to will not pursue? Or vice versa if the helper is of level 6 because the monster would still fight anyone who was of that level wouldn’t it?
Takius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2020, 07:54 AM   #2
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Wandering monster against a helper

The only monster with a "will not attack Level X or below" effect I've found is Mutalith Vortex Beast from Savagery and Sorcery, and I'm comfortable calling that erratum; it should say "will not pursue" and I'm adding that change to the web page and we'll fix it in the next printing.
__________________
Andrew Hackard, Munchkin Line Editor
If you have a question that isn't getting answered, we have a thread for that.

Let people like what they like. Don't be a gamer hater.

#PlayMunchkin on social media: Twitter || Facebook || Instagram || YouTube
Follow us on Kickstarter: Steve Jackson Games and Warehouse 23
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2020, 01:32 PM   #3
Takius
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Default Re: Wandering monster against a helper

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Hackard View Post
The only monster with a "will not attack Level X or below" effect I've found is Mutalith Vortex Beast from Savagery and Sorcery, and I'm comfortable calling that erratum; it should say "will not pursue" and I'm adding that change to the web page and we'll fix it in the next printing.
Thank you, quite honestly I hadn’t looked at the card, was just a debate in my last session, but was most likely a “will not pursue” glad I could contribute to an erratum
Takius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2020, 01:47 PM   #4
Takius
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Default Re: Wandering monster against a helper

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Hackard View Post
The only monster with a "will not attack Level X or below" effect I've found is Mutalith Vortex Beast from Savagery and Sorcery, and I'm comfortable calling that erratum; it should say "will not pursue" and I'm adding that change to the web page and we'll fix it in the next printing.
While I have you one more quick question since the rules do not specify, I know that while in combat discarding your class is the only way to get rid of it, but let’s say I have a halfling in hand and it’s the start of my turn, can I swap out class, sell my gold pieces, then swap back to elf before kicking open the door?
Takius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2020, 03:05 PM   #5
Brf
 
Brf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Default Re: Wandering monster against a helper

As long as you have both the halfling and elf cards in-hand you can change race like that before kicking open the door. Your original race and the halfling would be discarded.
Brf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2020, 03:55 PM   #6
Takius
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Default Re: Wandering monster against a helper

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brf View Post
As long as you have both the halfling and elf cards in-hand you can change race like that before kicking open the door. Your original race and the halfling would be discarded.
So anytime changing race it must be discarded? You can’t switch back?
Takius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2020, 04:15 PM   #7
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Wandering monster against a helper

Quote:
Originally Posted by Takius View Post
So anytime changing race it must be discarded? You can’t switch back?
Not unless you have a card that says otherwise. If you want to replace a Class/Race/Power/etc. with a new one, you have to discard the one currently in play.
__________________
Andrew Hackard, Munchkin Line Editor
If you have a question that isn't getting answered, we have a thread for that.

Let people like what they like. Don't be a gamer hater.

#PlayMunchkin on social media: Twitter || Facebook || Instagram || YouTube
Follow us on Kickstarter: Steve Jackson Games and Warehouse 23
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.