Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-28-2021, 09:43 PM   #1
Thrakmortan
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Default Apocalypse Disaster New World Problem

When this is played on player A when player B is in combat, can player A simply play all usable once cards in their hand for that combat on player B instead of discarding them or does the Disaster stop the usable once and usable during combat catds from being played?
Thrakmortan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2021, 11:25 AM   #2
Brf
 
Brf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Default Re: Apocalypse Disaster New World Problem

In Munchkin, in general, things need to be resolved in order. Once the disaster is played, it must be resolved before any other cards can be played.
Brf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2021, 07:09 PM   #3
Thrakmortan
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Default Re: Apocalypse Disaster New World Problem

This would mean that a usable once that counters a disaster in player's A hand could not be used.
Thrakmortan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2021, 06:43 PM   #4
Fufu
 
Fufu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: "Made in Hong Kong"
Default Re: Apocalypse Disaster New World Problem

Order of operation does matter in Munchkin, as Brf said. However, if a player is able to cancel the Disaster! or the Bad Stuff, then the player must play the card before resolving the Disaster! inflicted upon them.
Fufu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2021, 05:23 AM   #5
Thrakmortan
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Default Re: Apocalypse Disaster New World Problem

So a one shot can be played but only if it targets the disaster, all other one shots can't be played.
Thrakmortan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2021, 07:27 AM   #6
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Apocalypse Disaster New World Problem

Can you explain exactly which card you're asking(s) about? It seems like you have a specific question but I can't follow it. If I am misunderstanding, also let me know and we'll keep trying to figure out what's confused.
__________________
Andrew Hackard, Munchkin Line Editor
If you have a question that isn't getting answered, we have a thread for that.

Let people like what they like. Don't be a gamer hater.

#PlayMunchkin on social media: Twitter || Facebook || Instagram || YouTube
Follow us on Kickstarter: Steve Jackson Games and Warehouse 23
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2021, 11:23 AM   #7
Thrakmortan
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Default Re: Apocalypse Disaster New World Problem

The card is Disaster, New World Problem. The targeted person reveals their hand and discards all one shot items. However, can those one shot items be played instead of discarded? The situation was player B was in battle. Player C played the Disaster on Player A. Rather than discard his one shots, Player A wanted to play them on the battle. The end question is, if the disaster takes effect, meaning no one shots can be played from that hand, how could player A even play a counter to the disaster if it is in his hand and if he can why can't he play any one shot instead of a counter?
Thrakmortan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2021, 07:41 PM   #8
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Apocalypse Disaster New World Problem

Disaster! First World Problem does indeed make you discard all your one-shots, and so you have to do that before playing anything else, unless you have a card that specifically lets you cancel a Disaster before it takes affect. This one doesn't.
__________________
Andrew Hackard, Munchkin Line Editor
If you have a question that isn't getting answered, we have a thread for that.

Let people like what they like. Don't be a gamer hater.

#PlayMunchkin on social media: Twitter || Facebook || Instagram || YouTube
Follow us on Kickstarter: Steve Jackson Games and Warehouse 23
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.