Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-30-2020, 07:00 PM   #1
Join Date: Dec 2020
Default Two-Handed Sword

Hello there, my Question is about the effect of the "Two-Handed Sword".

The Card says:
"+2 Bonus
Two-Handed Sword
(Picture of a Sword having two own hands)
This is a one-handed weapon, but it has two hands of its own, so you get a net gain of one hand when you wield it...
-1 Hand | 800 Gold Pieces"

So unfortunately we found two different interpretations of the card.

1. You can hold the sword in one hand (cause its one-handed) and another one-handed weapon in the other hand. And the sword himself can also hold two one-handed weapons, caused by the text "it has two hands of its own".
So in total there would be four hands. The sword itself in combination with 3 other one-handed weapons can be hold.
But in this case it would be a net gain of two i think.

2. Again you can hold the sword in one hand (cause its one-handed) and another one-handed weapon in the other hand. But you only can add one other one-handed weapon to the setup.
Now you have a net gain of one.
Also can the one-handed "Two-Handed Sword" be explained. The Sword uses one of its own hands to hold itself - so you just have to use one instead of two hands to wield it. Then the sword just has one hand left to use another one-hand weapon.
In this case there would be a total of three hands.

I'm absolutely thinking it's theory 2, just by doing simple maths:
Starting always with two empty hands: -2
So you can carry a weapon in each that fullfill these: +1 +1
And the buff of the card: -1
=> -2+1+1-1=-1
As you can see there is just one hand empty.

We've searched in the internet for a long time but couldn't find an explicit answer.
Hopefully someone here is able to help us :D

Karazhul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2020, 10:15 PM   #2
Join Date: Feb 2010
Default Re: Two-Handed Sword

It's still only a net gain of one. When you start off, you have 2 empty hands (2). Equip the sword (2-1=1). Sword has 2 hands of it's own so you now have 3 empty hands (1+2=3).

Because the sword counts as a weapon itself, you would be able to have 4 1-handed weapons which is where you are probably getting confused. When you just have the sword itself equipped, it is a gain of one empty hand.
Mr_Draco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2020, 07:36 AM   #3
Brf's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2011
Default Re: Two-Handed Sword

It is your answer "1.", more or less. You can mix a two-hand item in there too, in place of two of the one-hand items.

The "Two-Handed Sword" is not a 1-handed item. It is a "-1"-handed item, as described by the text in the lower left. It does not subtract a hand when you equip it, it adds one instead.
Brf is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:35 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.