Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-02-2013, 01:53 AM   #1
ZeroAlbion
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Default Can I avoid Charity by playing a one-shot Item face-down?

Lets say I'm ending my turn and i have 6 cards and i really want to keep them. So lets say my hand is 5 monsters and a one-shot item, and id like to keep the one-shot secret from other players. If i put it into play so i can keep it, does it have to be face up?

Last edited by MunchkinMan; 04-02-2013 at 04:30 AM.
ZeroAlbion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 04:30 AM   #2
Bampop
 
Bampop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Palm Bay FL
Default Re: Trading one shot items

Yes. The rules say you can not conceal cards on the table.
__________________
Andy Partridge
MiB #3282, Palm Bay, FL
Munchkin, Zombie/Cthulhu Dice, Burn in Hell!, Revolution!, Castellan, Chez Geek, OGRE DE, Chupacabra, Nanuk
mib3282@gmail.com
Bampop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 04:36 AM   #3
MunchkinMan
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Can I avoid Charity by playing a one-shot Item face-down?

You can not legally "play" a card face-down. How, exactly, would the other players be able to know that it's an Item or other card you could have played legally? I would say that any card you put down on the table face-down is still part of your hand, and the only reason I say that is I'll often lay my hand, face-down, on the table, if I wish to put it down for some reason.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 04:50 AM   #4
MunchkinMan
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Trading one shot items

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bampop View Post
Yes. The rules say you can not conceal cards on the table.
The rules do not say this directly, but they do say that the cards that are in play show your Race, Class and what Items you are carrying, as well as any persistent Curses you are suffering from, implying very strongly that they must be face-up.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.