Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-30-2013, 06:28 PM   #1
wolfsbane
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Virginia
Default Cards without "useable only once"

I was playing with my parents and a friend the other night and the Friendly card came up. My step-dad got it and proceeded to use it, but didn't discard it. We started a huge argument about whether or not he could keep it and keep using it over and over again. He says he can keep using it because it does not say "useable only once," but the rest of us think he can't. Can he do this? Is the card meant to be used more than once? And what about with cards similar to it like Dead: Monster Does Not Fight?
Thanks
wolfsbane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 06:49 PM   #2
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: Cards without "useable only once"

Cards that are not Items only stay in play if they give you a persistent bonus (e.g., Really Impressive Title) or are otherwise covered in the rules (such as Race and Class cards). They do not need the text "Usable once only."

The part in the rules that covers this is:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Munchkin Rules
Other Treasure cards (like Go Up a Level cards) are “specials.” You may play these at any time, unless the card itself says otherwise. Follow the card’s instructions, then discard it, unless it has a persistent bonus like an Item.
The same applies to Door cards, like Dead and Friendly, so they must be discarded after use. Some Doors and non-Items will say "Usable once only," but it is not a necessity.
__________________
My unofficial, but comprehensive Flowcharts: Munchkin: A4 Letter; Munchkin Quest: A4 Letter
Rules Checklist for all Munchkin sets: A4 Letter.
Clipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 06:53 PM   #3
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Cards without "useable only once"

"Usable once only," for all intents and purposes, should only matter with respect to Items. Though some non-Item cards do say it, they are the exception, not the rule. Regardless, neither of those cards are Items, so a lack of "usable once only" has nothing to do with how these cards are to be treated. Also, any card type that the rules do not explicitly say that it stays in play (e.g., Classes, Items), should be discarded once its effect is over. Friendly is the kind of card that its effect is done when combat is over, so it gets discarded. Same with Dead. If your father wants to argue this, you could say that these cards are Monster Enhancers, and the rules specifically say that you should discard the Monster(s), Monster Enhancers, and one-shot Items after combat is over.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 11:47 AM   #4
wolfsbane
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Virginia
Default Re: Cards without "useable only once"

Awesome. Thanks very much!
wolfsbane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 10:51 PM   #5
six's monkey
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Tri-Cities, WA
Default Re: Cards without "useable only once"

I do lots of "in-adventure" rationale.
Had I been playing, I'd have pointed out when he tried to use the card again, that the first monster was indeed still friendly towards him, but as it had wandered off, that has no bearing on the combat-at-hand.
six's monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.