Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-09-2013, 11:36 PM   #1
Malus
 
Malus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Default Samurai - Gaining Face

Just want to make sure this is correct. The unaided clause for a Samurai's Gaining Face is for any aid correct? Is it not just asking for help, but if for instance you use a -5 to the monster then the Gaining Face won't happen and you won't gain the extra level?
Malus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 06:21 AM   #2
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: Samurai - Gaining Face

No. 'Unaided' in Munchkin is an equivalent term for not being helped, so that mean that if there is no Helper in the combat and the monster qualifies, the Samurai gets the bonus. Players can play cards that help you out, but you are considered unaided until you have a Helper. It would be way too easy to deny you that extra level simply by playing a +2 to either side card on your side when you are already beating the monster by yourself.
__________________
My unofficial, but comprehensive Flowcharts: Munchkin: A4 Letter; Munchkin Quest: A4 Letter
Rules Checklist for all Munchkin sets: A4 Letter.

Last edited by Clipper; 02-10-2013 at 06:25 AM.
Clipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 08:23 AM   #3
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Samurai - Gaining Face

It specifically means not having a helper join you in combat. You, and other players, can play cards to help you win, but that is not the same as getting someone to join you as a helper.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 10:38 AM   #4
Malus
 
Malus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Default Re: Samurai - Gaining Face

Thanks for the info. I told my friend I was gonna double check on the forums cause it came up last night. He use a +10 and I used a -5 and the ruling on the spot was that the monster was aided by the -5. You know, his game, his rule is final haha.
Malus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.