Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-13-2010, 12:13 PM   #11
munchkinvince
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Default Re: Question about the magician abilities

Quote:
Originally Posted by MunchkinMan View Post
Hmmmmm. I'm not wrong. I want you to read this section of the FAQ I wrote about 5 years ago:
Important Note #3: "Defeated" versus "Killed" versus "Lost"
For the purposes of the game, "defeating" a monster involves beating it in combat or removing it from play in such a way that you do not have to Run Away. This means that if a Wizard casts a charm spell, or a munchkin uses a Pollymorph Potion, or something else happens that ends a fight without the munchkins Running Away, the monster is defeated. "Killed" means that you defeated the monster with your Level and bonuses in combat, or used some card or special ability that specifically states that it kills the monster. For this, you get levels and Treasure (since you did defeat it, you know). Some Monsters say that they can be defeated immediately, based on circumstances. Unless the card says otherwise, this usually means an instant kill of the Monster, so you would get levels and Treasure in those situations, too.

However, even in a case where a single monster is instantly defeated, other players get a chance to play Wandering Monster to add a new foe that you must defeat before claiming the spoils.

"Lost" means that you are just not buff enough and you gotta Run Away like a little chicken.
Well thank for these precisions. I was not aware of them. Things are getting a little tricky here when we have to use the right terme but it's all good i'll try to be more rigourous. And since i'm french (using a french dec), i'll have to be even more cautious.

A good example of how tricky it can get : "defeated" in french is "vaincu". In french, "vaincu" would be "killed" and that allow u to get the levels and the treasures, wich "defeated" wouldn't allow. What do you say about that?

Again, when a a creature is beaten or removed, that is "defeated" for you right? In french it's called "défausser". And that never gives bonus unless the card specify it.
munchkinvince is offline  
Old 08-13-2010, 12:15 PM   #12
munchkinvince
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Default Re: Question about the magician abilities

Quote:
Originally Posted by MunchkinMan View Post
Again from the FAQ:
Q. If a Wizard is helping in a combat and charms a monster, does he get the Treasure from that monster?

A. The Treasures gained from a charmed monster are no different from Treasures from a monster that is killed, so the Treasures (drawn after the combat is over and all remaining monsters, if any, are defeated) are distributed according to the final agreement that the wizard negotiated for his help in the first place.
Thanks, that's a good explanation
munchkinvince is offline  
Old 08-13-2010, 12:17 PM   #13
munchkinvince
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Default Re: Question about the magician abilities

Quote:
Originally Posted by ComBAT View Post
You are also welcome to renegotiate your reward for helping during the combat.
You could tell the munchkin you are helping "I can charm this monster, but because I lose my entire hand, I want all of it's treasure." If he refuses, then you can either run away(of course if that player chooses to run), or find another means to end the combat in a way so you don't receive the "Bad Stuff".

Of course before combat, you can have more conditions associated with your reward for helping him. "Kill" vs "Defeating Only" vs "Running Away".
Thanks for the good idea about renegociating :P. It's a good poitn that i would lose all my hand so I could ask for more treasures.
munchkinvince is offline  
Old 08-14-2010, 04:03 PM   #14
Kirt
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Default Re: Question about the magician abilities

Asking a wizard (magician) to help you is tricky.

On the one hand, you cannot prevent him from Charming, even if you don't want him to.

On the other hand, if he does Charm, he is still bound by your original agreement for treasure distribution.

In cases like this, I sometimes put my offers to help like this:

"I will help for one treasure, but if I have to discard for us to win, I will want 1 more treasure per discard."

This also goes for Clerics (discard vs. undead), Warriors (discard to Berserk), Rangers (discard to tame), or just plain-old playing one-shots, etc.
Kirt is offline  
Old 08-15-2010, 04:09 AM   #15
MegaMun
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Default Re: Question about the magician abilities

Quote:
Originally Posted by MunchkinMan View Post
What, exactly, is the point of this statement? You give no explanation as to how this changes things.
Quote:
Originally Posted by munchkinvince
i want 1 tresor on 4 if we kill it
I mean, the conditions of deal is not observed. That's change things. Partner do not geting any "tresor"
MegaMun is offline  
Old 08-15-2010, 05:44 AM   #16
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Question about the magician abilities

If the wizard charms the monsters, the main fighter is obligated to divide the treasure according to the original agreement, unless he left himself an explicit escape clause. That's official and final.
__________________
Andrew Hackard, Munchkin Line Editor
#PlayMunchkin on social media: Twitter || Facebook || Instagram || YouTube
Follow us on Kickstarter: Steve Jackson Games and Warehouse 23

Let people like what they like.
Andrew Hackard is offline  
Closed Thread

Tags
charm, magician"charm, wizard

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.