Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Board and Card Games > Ogre and G.E.V.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-06-2014, 11:00 AM   #21
dwalend
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Default Re: Official Rules Update and FAQ (Draft versions 1.01 - June 21)

You could always take the 1:2 shot at an AP gun to get your pound (ounce?) of flesh.

Or ram. 6.07.3 doesn't mention anything about being disabled. Maybe take two treads with you.

Quote:
Originally Posted by offsides View Post
Of course the best solution is to not let your LGEVs get disabled and overrun... :P
The Ogre must have had something better to do with its SBs.
dwalend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2014, 12:03 PM   #22
hcobb
 
hcobb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Pacheco, California
Default Re: Official Rules Update and FAQ (Draft versions 1.01 - June 21)

Quote:
Originally Posted by dwalend View Post
Or ram. 6.07.3 doesn't mention anything about being disabled. Maybe take two treads with you.
By 8.05.3 only units that can ram by movement can ram in overruns and disabled units don't move.
__________________
-HJC
hcobb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2014, 01:39 PM   #23
dwalend
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Default Re: Official Rules Update and FAQ (Draft versions 1.01 - June 21)

Quote:
Originally Posted by hcobb View Post
By 8.05.3 only units that can ram by movement can ram in overruns and disabled units don't move.
New that had to be there somewhere, but couldn't find it. Thanks.

Errata for 6.07.3?
dwalend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2014, 02:27 PM   #24
GranitePenguin
 
GranitePenguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Plainfield, IL
Default Re: Official Rules Update and FAQ (Draft versions 1.01 - June 21)

Quote:
Originally Posted by dwalend View Post
New that had to be there somewhere, but couldn't find it. Thanks.

Errata for 6.07.3?
No, because 6.07.3 is specific to GEVs. The "Any other unit which could legally ram a unit or building during regular movement may ram" applies to all non-ogre units, not just GEVs. It's where it belongs already (ie, in the Overrun rules).
__________________
GranitePenguin
MIB #2214
GranitePenguin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2014, 08:47 AM   #25
hcobb
 
hcobb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Pacheco, California
Default Re: Official Rules Update and FAQ (Draft versions 1.01 - June 21)

Can you cross an intact bridge from an adjacent hex which has a destroyed road?
__________________
-HJC
hcobb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2014, 09:14 AM   #26
wolf90
Ogre Line Editor
 
wolf90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Default Re: Official Rules Update and FAQ (Draft versions 1.01 - June 21)

Quote:
Originally Posted by hcobb View Post
Can you cross an intact bridge from an adjacent hex which has a destroyed road?
Why not? The bridge isn't destroyed. All road movement bonuses would be lost, however.

D.
__________________
Proud sponsor of Ogre KS $4.5k Sheet #3 - Bringing the Vatican Guard, a Tiger-striped mercenary unit, and of course pink GEVs, to a game near you! Orders may be placed here.
wolf90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2014, 11:51 AM   #27
hcobb
 
hcobb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Pacheco, California
Default Re: Official Rules Update and FAQ (Draft versions 1.01 - June 21)

GEV moves 0312 to destroyed road in 0412 then spends 2 MP to enter intact hex 0413, correct?
__________________
-HJC
hcobb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2014, 05:15 PM   #28
wolf90
Ogre Line Editor
 
wolf90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Default Re: Official Rules Update and FAQ (Draft versions 1.01 - June 21)

Quote:
Originally Posted by hcobb View Post
GEV moves 0312 to destroyed road in 0412 then spends 2 MP to enter intact hex 0413, correct?
[Map G1 North]

You DO find the fringe cases, don't you? I was thinking a large bridge over a river, which should be relatively straight forward - 1 MP entering the road on the river bridge hex, but no road bonus.

Which I think can be extrapolated to the stream bridge then too. The GEV is not entering the town proper; it's entering the road in the town via the stream bridge. Just because the road is cut in hex 0412 doesn't change the geography of hex 0413.

This presupposes the terrain in the hex where the road is cut can be entered and exited by that unit. On Map S2 North, if the rail was cut in hex 1506, a GEV traveling along the rail (from hex 1405) could not enter the river bridge (hex 1605) on the same turn from hex 1506, as that hex is now considered Forest, and thus the GEV is subject to the risk of Disabling as per Forest terrain rules as well as stopping it's movement for the turn.

Stream bridges may be attacked directly (also cutting the road), but are not damaged by attacks to the adjacent hexes.

D.
__________________
Proud sponsor of Ogre KS $4.5k Sheet #3 - Bringing the Vatican Guard, a Tiger-striped mercenary unit, and of course pink GEVs, to a game near you! Orders may be placed here.
wolf90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2014, 10:55 PM   #29
Zorgophlats
 
Zorgophlats's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South of Atlanta, GA
Default Re: Official Rules Update and FAQ (Draft versions 1.01 - June 21)

13.02 Destruction of bridges. Where a road or railroad crosses a stream hexside, there is a stream bridge with a defense strength of D6. It lies in two hexes and can be attacked by firing at either hex. Fire on both of its hexes can be combined for effect. Only an X result destroys a bridge. If the bridge is destroyed, the road is cut. Place an overlay showing a stream with a downed bridge.

From my reading, I get that the bridge itself needs to be attacked to be destroyed. Attacking the road on either side has no effect on the bridge itself.
__________________
Ogre Nightfall
Paid: Dec. 2013
Location: Atlanta, GA
Status: Waiting

I over-analyze things. Don't take it too seriously.
Zorgophlats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2014, 11:24 PM   #30
hcobb
 
hcobb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Pacheco, California
Default Re: Official Rules Update and FAQ (Draft versions 1.01 - June 21)

Will this need a note in "5.07 ... A bridge hex is like any other road hex. A unit which moves from a road to a non-road hex, or vice versa, is affected by the underlying terrain." to indicate that a road-out hex is not a non-road hex?

I.e. road-out destroys roadness into the hex, but not out of it? A stream bridge is a "roadness" indicator for the hexside, which is independent of road-state in the two connecting hexes.
__________________
-HJC
hcobb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.