Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > The Fantasy Trip

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-14-2021, 01:02 PM   #1
Barmace
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Maine
Default Spell Level Clarification

A Creation Spell for a given area includes all the spells
of the same type for lesser areas. For instance, a wizard
who knows 3-Hex Fire is also assumed to know the one-hex
Fire spell, at no extra IQ cost. A wizard with 7-Hex Illusion
automatically knows 4-Hex Illusion and Illusion . . . and so
on.


Does that mean that when they reach the next level spell that it is for free?
Barmace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2021, 01:37 PM   #2
tomc
 
tomc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Carrboro, NC
Default Re: Spell Level Clarification

Quote:
Originally Posted by Barmace View Post
A Creation Spell for a given area includes all the spells
of the same type for lesser areas. For instance, a wizard
who knows 3-Hex Fire is also assumed to know the one-hex
Fire spell, at no extra IQ cost. A wizard with 7-Hex Illusion
automatically knows 4-Hex Illusion and Illusion . . . and so
on.


Does that mean that when they reach the next level spell that it is for free?
That's how I've always played it.
__________________
OgreMap2

Freedom of Speech is not Freedom of Podium
tomc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2021, 01:55 PM   #3
Shostak
 
Shostak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: New England
Default Re: Spell Level Clarification

Quote:
Originally Posted by Barmace View Post
Does that mean that when they reach the next level spell that it is for free?
I think that is up to the interpretation of the GM. In my games, I prefer to have things work according to the example of the new Staff spells, which have lesser versions of a spell be prerequisites for the greater ones.
__________________
* * * *
Anthony Shostak
myriangia.wordpress.com
Shostak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2021, 04:53 PM   #4
TippetsTX
 
TippetsTX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: North Texas
Default Re: Spell Level Clarification

I think the general guidance has been that the wizard must still pay 500 XP to unlock the higher-IQ version of the spell. Purchasing one of the multi-hex versions at character creation provides a definite advantage, then.
__________________
“No matter how subtle the wizard, a knife between the shoulder blades will seriously cramp his style.” -Vladimir Taltos
TippetsTX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2021, 03:34 AM   #5
Chris Rice
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: London Uk, but originally from Scotland
Default Re: Spell Level Clarification

I always played that if you bought a creation spell at a certain level, then you automatically knew all the spells at lower levels. If you wanted the next level up then you bought that like any other spell.
Chris Rice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2021, 08:19 PM   #6
Axly Suregrip
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Default Re: Spell Level Clarification

I like Barmace's and Tomc's take on this. We have not played it that way, but it makes sense. I think we will be adding this interpretation to our games.
Axly Suregrip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2021, 11:20 AM   #7
Kieddicus
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Default Re: Spell Level Clarification

I've always dropped that rule, and treated the different sizes as completely different spells.
Kieddicus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2021, 11:43 AM   #8
hcobb
 
hcobb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Pacheco, California
Default Re: Spell Level Clarification

Inclusion of the lesser area creation spells in the larger version was explicitly noted in first edition. (First edition Advanced Wizard page 4)
(Where memory points were much more costly.)
__________________
-HJC
hcobb is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 09:54 PM   #9
JohnPaulB
 
JohnPaulB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Portland, Maine
Default Re: Spell Level Clarification

Quote:
Originally Posted by Barmace View Post
A Creation Spell for a given area includes all the spells
of the same type for lesser areas. For instance, a wizard
who knows 3-Hex Fire is also assumed to know the one-hex
Fire spell, at no extra IQ cost. A wizard with 7-Hex Illusion
automatically knows 4-Hex Illusion and Illusion . . . and so
on.


Does that mean that when they reach the next level spell that it is for free?
Fire spell ITL p 19
A wizard may also use this spell to produce controlled fire in his own or an adjacent hex. He could light his own cigar, a friend’s torch, or an enemy’s beard.

Thus, someone who knows 7 hex fire can control it down to 3 hexes or just light that cigar.

As far as working your way up the Fire Hex Chart, if you already know 3 hex fire and buy 7 hex fire, well you can light one to seven hexes.

However, I would consider the lower Fire Hex spells to be pre-requisites for the bigger ones. So you'd have to buy 3 hex fire also to buy 7 hex fire on character creation.
__________________
- Hail Melee

Fantasy Chess: A chess game with combat.
Don't just take the square, Fight for it!
https://www.shadowhex.com
JohnPaulB is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.