Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > Dungeon Fantasy Roleplaying Game

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-05-2017, 06:28 PM   #11
evileeyore
 
evileeyore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: 100 hurricane swamp
Default Re: Concentrate vs. Concentrate Maneuver

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom H. View Post
But yeah, it necessarily happens a lot that plain words are overloaded with GURPS significance. Don't get me started on power or ability. It may help if a term is italicized every time it is used when it refers to a specific game definition.
Yeah, I've gotten in the habit online of capitalizing words when being used as game terminology.
__________________
Feel free to steal, borrow, fold, spindle, mutilate any rule, advantage, etc I come up with it.
evileeyore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2017, 10:19 PM   #12
corwyn
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Saskatoon, SK
Default Re: Concentrate vs. Concentrate Maneuver

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom H. View Post
Good topic.

I would agree with the conclusions here.

Also on p. 11 of Spells the following section should be the rules evidence to clear this up:

Concentration and Maintenance

"You can maintain a spell without concentration unless it requires constant manipulation and change; e.g., to maneuver a levitating object. Spells like that require you to take the Concentrate maneuver only. . . ."


But yeah, it necessarily happens a lot that plain words are overloaded with GURPS significance. Don't get me started on power or ability. It may help if a term is italicized every time it is used when it refers to a specific game definition.
I'm not sure but I'm starting to think I've been doing this wrong for 30 years.
__________________
MiB 7704

Running: Savage Worlds Runepunk
Running: DF RPG - Halls of Justice
Running: D&D 5e Tomb of Annihilation
Playing: GURPS Uplift?
corwyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2017, 08:31 AM   #13
Captain Joy
 
Captain Joy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Heartland, U.S.A.
Default Re: Concentrate vs. Concentrate Maneuver

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dragondog View Post
On page 11 of Spells, under the Casting Spells While Maintaining Other Spells heading, you get a -3 penalty per spell you are concentrating on and a -1 per other spell you have on.

That's where I'm getting the "lesser" concentrate from, to call it something to explicitly differentiate it from the Concentrate maneuver.
The initial casting of a spell requires a Concentrate Maneuver (Blocking Spells are an exception); and, some spells require concentration - NOT full blown Concentrate Maneuvers – to keep going.

EDIT: My above statement is wrong. Spells that require concentration to keep going do require full blown Concentrate Maneuvers each turn to fully utilize them. It's just that you can also cast a new spell while maintaining these spells, albeit at -3 penalty, if you want. You're still taking a single Concentrate Maneuver on your turn – you're just concentrating on more than a single spell.

You can not, however, maintain a spell that requires concentration and swing a sword at something – that would be two different maneuvers: Concentration and Attack for example, and that is not allowed.

Last edited by Captain Joy; 10-10-2017 at 08:18 PM. Reason: Dropped extraneous sentence. Clarification.
Captain Joy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.