Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > GURPS

Old 07-03-2012, 04:46 PM   #1
buzz

Default Helping on skill checks?

Pardon me for asking what's probably a common question, but I am new to GURPS and am not finding this in the FAQs.

How does one or more PCs assisting another on a skill check work in GURPS? I'm not seeing a rule for this in the books.
buzz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 04:50 PM   #2
Crakkerjakk
"Gimme 18 minutes . . ."

Default Re: Helping on skill checks?

Quote:
Originally Posted by buzz View Post
Pardon me for asking what's probably a common question, but I am new to GURPS and am not finding this in the FAQs.

How does one or more PCs assisting another on a skill check work in GURPS? I'm not seeing a rule for this in the books.
In stock GURPS, I don't think there are explicit rules.

In Action they introduce a concept where assisting people roll their skills first. How well they roll determines a modifier to the main person making the skill check. Critical failure is a -1, failure is no mod, success is +1, and critical success is +2.

Semper Fi
Crakkerjakk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 04:57 PM   #3
vierasmarius

It is a pretty common question, since it's a frequent occurrence in-game yet lacks sufficient explanation in the Basic Set. Per Complementary Skills (Action2 pg5), each assistant make a skill roll (typically without additional modifiers) to add a bonus to the "primary" skill use; Critical Success gives +2, Success +1, Failure -1, and Critical Failure -2. The complementary skills don't have to match the primary one, but can be anything that the GM feels could help complete the task at hand.