Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-24-2017, 11:41 PM   #1
raptor619
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Default One Shot Items

can i turn a one shot item from sideways to active(Equipped) during combat?

can i instant wall a monster my friend is fighting so that he runs away even though he doesnt want to?
raptor619 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2017, 01:10 AM   #2
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: One Shot Items

One-shots don't have to be equipped to be used; in fact, almost all of them can be played from the hand.

You cannot use Instant Wall to force someone to Run Away who doesn't want to.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2017, 01:53 AM   #3
raptor619
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Default Re: One Shot Items

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Hackard View Post
One-shots don't have to be equipped to be used; in fact, almost all of them can be played from the hand.

You cannot use Instant Wall to force someone to Run Away who doesn't want to.
can one shot items be played against a monster even if it is carried i.e. turned sideways
the purpose of this is to reduce hand count,

so for example its my turn i play pretty balloons to the table but turn it sideways and i kick open a door
its a lvl 4 monster i am level 1
can i use the pretty balloons to win the fight??

and another question
i have two 1 handed items equipped, can i have another 1 handed item not equipped but carried(turned sideways)?

Last edited by raptor619; 08-26-2017 at 02:37 AM.
raptor619 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2017, 02:18 PM   #4
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: One Shot Items

From the rules:
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Rules, One-Shot Treasures
Most of these are used during combat to strengthen the munchkins or the monsters, and may be played from your hand or from the table.
So, yes, you can use a one-shot Item you have carried on the table. As for turning them sideways, there's been no official declaration that one-shot Items must be turned sideways, as they need to be added to the combat to count. I usually turn them sideways, personally, but in the past, Andrew has stated that's not a necessity.

As for your additional question: Please don't tack on unrelated questions in the future, so as to prevent tangents and splits in the conversation. As for the answer: Yes. That's the whole point the rules try to make by saying that you can carry any number of small Items and that Items you can't use must be turned sideways. You can use two Hands of Items, but you could carry any number of Hand Items. You can use one Armor Items, but you can carry any number of Armor Items, and so on. Obviously, the one Big Item rule sticks, so you couldn't use a Big Item and carry a second Big Item.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.