Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-19-2017, 12:25 PM   #1
MrSlippery
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Default Please help settle an argument (King Tut)

My friends and I were playing the other day, and we got into a disagreement about the card King Tut.

In order to make this as fair as possible and not sway the opinions of the readers of this thread, I will try to make it ambiguous as to of which opinion I am. (this is so when my friend reads this post later, he can't accuse me of trying to lead the answer one way or the other)

One of us says that upon encountering King Tut, the unfortunate Munchkin adventurer automatically loses two levels (as soon as the 'door is kicked down'). The other says that the loss of two levels is only incurred should one successfully run away.

I would also like to point out that we looked up the answer to this question, and found one here; http://www.worldofmunchkin.com/faq/, but one of us did not find the answer satisfying/convincing.

So, in order to make this as clear as possible (and essentially make it as 'unarguable' as possible), I would simply like a 'yes' or 'no' answer to the following question.

A level 9 player 'kicks down the door' and finds a King Tut on the other side. Absolutely no cards are played by anyone present to interfere with the fight. He fights it and kills it. Is this player then declared the winner of that game (level 10 being the 'game winning level,' of course).

Thank you,

-Slip
MrSlippery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2017, 12:39 PM   #2
bonetm
 
bonetm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Brazil
Default Re: Please help settle an argument (King Tut)

Yes, the player is the winner.

The "Lose 2 Levels" clause on King Tut (or Wight Brothers) only matters if you lose combat and have to Run Away. Even IF you Run Away successfully, you still lose the Levels. Otherwise, it's a normal combat
__________________
Igor Toscano
MiB: #1602
bonetm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2017, 02:42 AM   #3
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Please help settle an argument (King Tut)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bonetm View Post
The "Lose 2 Levels" clause on King Tut (or Wight Brothers) only matters if you lose combat and have to Run Away. Even IF you Run Away successfully, you still lose the Levels. Otherwise, it's a normal combat
This is the correct and official answer.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2017, 11:41 PM   #4
MrSlippery
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Default Re: Please help settle an argument (King Tut)

Thank you.
MrSlippery is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.