Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > GURPS

Old 04-29-2018, 03:31 AM   #1
dave_in_TX

Default Best ranges weapon for rogue

I'm somewhat new to GURPS and am finding the number of turns it takes to fire a ranged weapon. I understand you can use Weapon Master (Bow) and/or Heroic Archer and reduce the number of turns. Is there a better ranged weapon for rogues. Fighting face to face doesn't seem great due to the lousy armor class of the rogue.

Thanks!

Dave
dave_in_TX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2018, 04:36 AM   #2
weby

Default Re: Best ranges weapon for rogue

Of course the real answer is a blaster pistol(just ask Han Solo), but somehow most GMs do not allow those in fantasy games.

But more seriously it depends a lot on your point budget.

But if you want to be able to do something without too many points and expect to be fairly close to the enemies then thrown weapons might be a good choice. Basically for them you need enough of the weapons, fast draw(that type weapon) and the thrown weapon skill. If you have enough points then a weapon master that includes the weapon.

Good possible choices are:
knives: They are light so you can carry many, they do impaling damage so are effective against unarmored/low armored foes, specially if you learn targeted attack vitals. But they are kind of ineffective against armored foes doe to low base damage.
Axe/mace; Do swing damage so more base damage and more improvement at higher strength. They also have bit longer ranges. But they are heavier so you can carry less. Also the damage type of cut/crush is worse than impaling.