Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > GURPS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-08-2022, 03:37 PM   #1
Lovewyrm
 
Lovewyrm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2022
Default All out Attack (double) and 'unwieldy' () weapons, do they work?

Using a weapon that becomes unready after a strike, B274, Great Axe for example, while not having enough strength to overcome this restriction for an all out attack - double...

...Do the two attacks happen?
Or just one?

My intuition is they happen since I don't think the text explaining that maneuver has any mentions for it, nor the weapon statisctics entry (unless I am failing at reading, of course)

But, I felt like asking anyway...

Edit:
Gah, "Double: Make two attacks against he same foe, if you have two ready weapons or one weapon that does not have to be readied after use."
Is that for melee weapons? Or ranged? Both?

Last edited by Lovewyrm; 08-08-2022 at 03:44 PM.
Lovewyrm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2022, 03:49 PM   #2
johndallman
Night Watchman
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cambridge, UK
Default Re: All out Attack (double) and 'unwieldy' () weapons, do they work?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lovewyrm View Post
Gah, "Double: Make two attacks against he same foe, if you have two ready weapons or one weapon that does not have to be readied after use."
Is that for melee weapons? Or ranged? Both?
Melee. It says so on p. B365, last paragraph in the centre column.
johndallman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2022, 04:11 PM   #3
Lovewyrm
 
Lovewyrm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2022
Default Re: All out Attack (double) and 'unwieldy' () weapons, do they work?

Quote:
Originally Posted by johndallman View Post
Melee. It says so on p. B365, last paragraph in the centre column.
That settles it, then.
Thanks~

(I shall be more diligent next time...hopefully...)
Lovewyrm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2022, 05:04 PM   #4
Boge
 
Boge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Default Re: All out Attack (double) and 'unwieldy' () weapons, do they work?

The devil is in the details. Unfortunately, there are a lot of details in Gurps.
Boge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2022, 05:45 PM   #5
Varyon
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Default Re: All out Attack (double) and 'unwieldy' () weapons, do they work?

I often feel it's appropriate to allow an attack to replace a Ready (although it may be appropriate to call for a roll... but I'd probably waive that as part of an All Out Attack), so I'd allow All Out Attack (Double) to basically become All Out Attack (Attack and Ready) (you get one attack, but the weapon doesn't become Unready) or All Out Attack (Ready and Attack) (with an Unready weapon - due to it not yet being drawn, you having suffered a "turns in your hand" Critical Failure result, or having attacked with an unwieldy weapon - you Ready it and immediately attack).
__________________
GURPS Overhaul
Varyon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2022, 06:16 PM   #6
Pursuivant
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Default Re: All out Attack (double) and 'unwieldy' () weapons, do they work?

If you want a logical explanation, it's the All Out Attack.

You're putting everything you have into the first strike, weapon retraction, and the second attack, which completely blows any chance of a defense.

A normal "Ready" maneuver preserves your ability to Dodge or use a Block or Parry using a shield or weapon held in the other hand.

Realistically, if you can barely lift a weapon, you probably shouldn't be able to use AOA (Double), but that's a different kettle of fish.
Pursuivant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2022, 03:32 AM   #7
Lovewyrm
 
Lovewyrm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2022
Default Re: All out Attack (double) and 'unwieldy' () weapons, do they work?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Varyon View Post
I often feel it's appropriate to allow an attack to replace a Ready (although it may be appropriate to call for a roll... but I'd probably waive that as part of an All Out Attack), so I'd allow All Out Attack (Double) to basically become All Out Attack (Attack and Ready) (you get one attack, but the weapon doesn't become Unready) or All Out Attack (Ready and Attack) (with an Unready weapon - due to it not yet being drawn, you having suffered a "turns in your hand" Critical Failure result, or having attacked with an unwieldy weapon - you Ready it and immediately attack).
I like this angle. If a double attack can be a swing, retract, swing retract, which is four chanages of directions, down, back, down, back (ready for the next turn)

Then a down followed by an effortful wrench back up looks quite fair to me.
Especially since it would also remove the active defenses, which also makes sense and is fair.
Lovewyrm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2022, 02:30 PM   #8
Plane
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Default Re: All out Attack (double) and 'unwieldy' () weapons, do they work?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Varyon View Post
I often feel it's appropriate to allow an attack to replace a Ready (although it may be appropriate to call for a roll... but I'd probably waive that as part of an All Out Attack), so I'd allow All Out Attack (Double) to basically become All Out Attack (Attack and Ready) (you get one attack, but the weapon doesn't become Unready) or All Out Attack (Ready and Attack) (with an Unready weapon - due to it not yet being drawn, you having suffered a "turns in your hand" Critical Failure result, or having attacked with an unwieldy weapon - you Ready it and immediately attack).
This doesn't bother me, although you can't readily swap in a Ready for an Extra Attack (I think it's something like a +20% to be able to do either) so it might be OP by comparison.
__________________
what this forum is
(17 March 2020 forum rules from Hackard)
Plane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2022, 09:26 PM   #9
mburr0003
 
Join Date: Jun 2022
Default Re: All out Attack (double) and 'unwieldy' () weapons, do they work?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Plane View Post
This doesn't bother me, although you can't readily swap in a Ready for an Extra Attack (I think it's something like a +20% to be able to do either) so it might be OP by comparison.
Not by RAW, but, I allow Readies to taken in place of Attacks, and have for almost 30 some odd years in GURPS, nothing has broken so far.


Okay, back int he crazy days of 3e, some things were a bit broken with it... but that was more to ridiculous amounts of attacks due to high skill than allowing a Ready (or Step) in place of an Attack.
mburr0003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2022, 09:10 PM   #10
Lovewyrm
 
Lovewyrm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2022
Default Re: All out Attack (double) and 'unwieldy' () weapons, do they work?

I have used this tweak for a bit now, and I found it rather pleasant.
I, too, could not really see anything break-y with it, since hefty weapons tend to also be unbalanced for parrying and so forth.

It only increased fun.
Lovewyrm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.