Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin Quest

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-05-2009, 07:28 PM   #1
GhostBear
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Default Multiple Monsters

When fighting multiple monsters do the levels combine as in the card game or do they remain separate?
GhostBear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2009, 08:14 PM   #2
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Multiple Monsters

They combine.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games
Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games || Medium: @SJGames

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2009, 07:44 AM   #3
Exxar
MIB
 
Exxar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Croatia
Default Re: Multiple Monsters

And remember that each monster also contributes its number of dice, so it's not only the combination of levels you're up against :)
__________________
MIB #6633
CL Croatia
Exxar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2010, 03:03 PM   #4
roadtoad
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Default Re: Multiple Monsters

Is this in the rules anywhere? The only reference I find to fighting multiple monsters says "you fight them as a group." Well, that's great, but then there are zero rules on what that means. Examples and explanations are your friends, rules-writing boys and girls!
roadtoad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2010, 03:36 PM   #5
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Multiple Monsters

Quote:
Originally Posted by roadtoad View Post
Is this in the rules anywhere? The only reference I find to fighting multiple monsters says "you fight them as a group." Well, that's great, but then there are zero rules on what that means. Examples and explanations are your friends, rules-writing boys and girls!
This a perfect example of how to get off on the wrong foot. There's no need to be rude. If you feel there's a deficiency in the rules, there are quite a few nicer ways to say as much.

Regardless, a single Monster gets at least one die in combat. That's clear, is it not? If you're supposed to combine the Monsters and fight them as a group, how would you otherwise work that out, especially given that you're told you can not fight them individually? There are other statements in the rules which imply, to varying degrees, how this works, at any rate. Could it be better? Yes. Can we fix it? Sure, given time.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2010, 03:39 PM   #6
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Multiple Monsters

This would be one of those places where we get more than a heavy implication on how combat works with one or two munchkins and one or more Monsters:
Quote:
The last part of combat is the die roll. Normally, both the munchkins and the monsters will roll dice. They add the results to their Levels and bonuses (see Munchkin Babe vs. the Shrieking Geek, p. 11). Munchkins roll one die. Monsters roll the number of dice shown on their cards.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2010, 10:07 PM   #7
Allzermalmende
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Default Re: Multiple Monsters

When killing multiple monsters in a single combat, do you go up a level for each kill or one level for all of them (before applying special circumstances such as modifiers and fearsome bonuses)?

All the examples in the rules seem to refer to a monster (singular).

Last edited by Allzermalmende; 01-25-2010 at 10:27 PM.
Allzermalmende is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2010, 10:19 PM   #8
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Multiple Monsters

You gain appropriate rewards for killing each monster in the fight. (I'm pretty sure the rules are explicit on that point, but I don't have the rulebook with me.) The examples refer to a single monster because it would be cumbersome to keep adding "for each monster in the fight" over and over, and because most fights are with a single monster.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games
Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games || Medium: @SJGames

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2010, 10:28 PM   #9
Allzermalmende
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Default Re: Multiple Monsters

Thank you for clearing that up, if you could just confirm on some special circumstances as well (I got into a huge argument with a friend last game and promised them to get this in writing).

If a Helper who is an Elf helps to kill multiple monsters in a single combat, does it go up a level for each monster they helped kill or only one for all of them?
If you kill two fearsome monsters by yourself in a single combat, do you go up 2, 3, or 4 levels?
If a Helper helps to kill two fearsome monsters in a single combat, do they go up 1 level or 2?
If a Helper who is an Elf helps to kill a fearsome monster and a non-fearsome monster in a single combat, do they go up 1 level or 2?
Allzermalmende is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2010, 10:38 PM   #10
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Multiple Monsters

Quote:
Originally Posted by Allzermalmende View Post
Thank you for clearing that up, if you could just confirm on some special circumstances as well (I got into a huge argument with a friend last game and promised them to get this in writing).
Life's too short to argue with friends, even over Munchkin Quest. Buy him/her a tasty adult beverage (or a milkshake) the next time you play.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Allzermalmende View Post
If a Helper who is an Elf helps to kill multiple monsters in a single combat, does it go up a level for each monster they helped kill or only one for all of them?
The Elf card is very clear: it's a level per monster.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Allzermalmende View Post
If you kill two fearsome monsters by yourself in a single combat, do you go up 2, 3, or 4 levels?
Each fearsome monster gives you 2 levels (that's what it says, right on the card), so two fearsome monsters would be 4 levels.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Allzermalmende View Post
If a Helper helps to kill two fearsome monsters in a single combat, do they go up 1 level or 2?
Two, one level for each.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Allzermalmende View Post
If a Helper who is an Elf helps to kill a fearsome monster and a non-fearsome monster in a single combat, do they go up 1 level or 2?
Two, one level for each.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games
Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games || Medium: @SJGames

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.