Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-18-2009, 06:03 PM   #1
ishinken
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Default "Fight with levels only"

2. Someone is fighting 2 monsters, one monster cannot be defeated with anything but your levels, the other one however does not. Does that mean you have to defeat both monsters levels with your level only?

Last edited by Andrew Hackard; 07-18-2009 at 06:57 PM.
ishinken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2009, 06:57 PM   #2
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: "Fight with levels only"

Quote:
Originally Posted by ishinken View Post
2. Someone is fighting 2 monsters, one monster cannot be defeated with anything but your levels, the other one however does not. Does that mean you have to defeat both monsters levels with your level only?
Yes, you have to defeat both monsters with your level only.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2009, 04:37 PM   #3
devilcat
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Default Re: "Fight with levels only"

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Hackard View Post
Yes, you have to defeat both monsters with your level only.
I would have thought the first monster would be levels only, and the 2nd normal bonuses apply. I'm assuming based on your opinion, that in the case of an elf penalty this would also apply to both monsters.
devilcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2009, 05:15 PM   #4
RL
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Colorado
Default Re: "Fight with levels only"

Quote:
Originally Posted by devilcat View Post
I would have thought the first monster would be levels only, and the 2nd normal bonuses apply. I'm assuming based on your opinion, that in the case of an elf penalty this would also apply to both monsters.
Since you are fighting the combined level of the monsters, there is no way to fight one of them with levels only and another with levels and bonuses. Ditto for an Elf penalty (unless both monsters have an elf penalty, then you count both).
__________________
Check out my Munchkin trade post
RL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2009, 05:17 PM   #5
homi
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
Default Re: "Fight with levels only"

Quote:
Originally Posted by devilcat View Post
I would have thought the first monster would be levels only, and the 2nd normal bonuses apply. I'm assuming based on your opinion, that in the case of an elf penalty this would also apply to both monsters.
How would you even calculate that? The winner of the fight is the total level/bonuses of the munchkin(s) vs the total level/bonuses of the monsters. You can't kill one monster separately from the other, so either you fight with only your levels against both, or not at all.
homi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2009, 05:18 PM   #6
StaticHamster
 
StaticHamster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Default Re: "Fight with levels only"

Quote:
Originally Posted by devilcat View Post
I would have thought the first monster would be levels only, and the 2nd normal bonuses apply. I'm assuming based on your opinion, that in the case of an elf penalty this would also apply to both monsters.
I find it easier to think of a multiple monster fight as one monster. All the bonus' and penalties combat into a whole.

Same thing when you have someones help in combat.

Let's say you were in combat against a suped up "The Mighty Germ" and you are a Dwarf. You ask for another players help and they are a halfling; Halflings autokill the Mighty Germ...therefore its dead. Divide the treasure as you agreed.

And Andrew doesn't just have opinions....he's one of the people on here who can give official answers. What he says usually is the rule.
__________________
I am nothing but a figment of my own imagination
StaticHamster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2009, 05:28 PM   #7
Uzi4U
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Italy
Default Re: "Fight with levels only"

Quote:
Originally Posted by StaticHamster View Post
Let's say you were in combat against a suped up "The Mighty Germ" and you are a Dwarf. You ask for another players help and they are a halfling; Halflings autokill the Mighty Germ...therefore its dead. Divide the treasure as you agreed.
right in this situation, what if another monster is helping the Mighty Germ? it's autokilled too? or it counts as charme ecc, so just the Germ goes away?
Uzi4U is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2009, 07:19 PM   #8
StaticHamster
 
StaticHamster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Default Re: "Fight with levels only"

Just the Mighty Germ is auto-killed, in certain instances I find it easier to treat two monsters as one monster, but they are still separate monsters. You can for instance only use the Wizards charm ability on one of them.
__________________
I am nothing but a figment of my own imagination
StaticHamster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2009, 02:27 AM   #9
HunterNBama
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Birmingham, AL
Default Re: "Fight with levels only"

Quote:
Originally Posted by Uzi4U View Post
right in this situation, what if another monster is helping the Mighty Germ? it's autokilled too? or it counts as charme ecc, so just the Germ goes away?
In this case, I believe The Might Germ is still autokilled by the halfling, but you still have to fight the second Monster according to normal rules. If I am correct, think of it as stepping on the Germ as you advance on the second Monster. Note that I said "I believe", not that I know for certain. MM or Andrew may change this.
HunterNBama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2009, 08:37 AM   #10
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: "Fight with levels only"

As I think I may have stated before, anything that affects the combat applies to the combat, anything that affects the Monster affects only that Monster. So, if a Monster has a bonus against Elves, that's an effect on the Monster, which means that only that Monster gets the bonus, and not all Monsters in the combat. At the same time, fighting with Levels or Items only is a combat effect, and if you have 1, 2, or 20 Monsters, you have to fight under the combined combat effects of all the Monsters.

Now, since the Halfling/Mighty Germ combo affects the Mighty Germ, and not the way the combat must be fought, and given my earlier statements, it could go without saying that the Mighty Germ would be the only Monster removed from a multi-Monster combat facing a Halfling, unless there happens to be another Monster removable based on some other condition, or is similarly affected by the Halfling as is the Mighty Germ.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
rules

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.