Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > GURPS

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-20-2018, 07:30 PM   #1
Drakyrias
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Default Supers 3e: Absorption

A player wanting to build a character using this super advantage, but the question came up how does the overflow DR calculate once they have absorbed their entire 'battery' of points.
Drakyrias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2018, 02:30 AM   #2
weby
 
weby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Default Re: Supers 3e: Absorption

What is unclear?

The effect of full battery is said fairly clearly in the absorption advantage(2DR/level).
__________________
--
weby's gaming stuff: http://weby.roto.nu
weby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2018, 08:09 PM   #3
Drakyrias
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Default Re: Supers 3e: Absorption

It says they gain 2pts of DR per lvl of absorption.

Do they still have to absorb additional energies gain that DR? Do they have to purchase is with points like they would have enhanced themselves with normally using the Defense table for costs?

I.E.

Super Sponge has Absorption (Crushing) 6 and builds up his full 36 pts of absorption as he is struck by Dinospike over a few rounds. Dinospike!'s next hit does 3d dmg, rolling 11pts.

How is this resolved?
Drakyrias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2018, 08:56 AM   #4
Drakyrias
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Default Re: Supers 3e: Absorption

No help? I'm still struggling with how this mechanic works.
Drakyrias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2018, 09:08 AM   #5
weby
 
weby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Default Re: Supers 3e: Absorption

No they do not have to absorb additional power, but note that power in the battery drains. As long as the battery is full, you do not roll for absorption, but use a flat 2 DR.

They do not have to purchase the extra DR with extra points or do anything except have the battery full to get them. The 2 DR/level is inherent part of the absorption.

So when hit use following:
Battery not full: Roll absorption dice and fill the battery.
Battery full: Just use like 2 DR/level.

So in your example: If the battery is full and there is 6 levels of absorption then the DR is 2*6=12, thus the 11 point hit does no damage.
__________________
--
weby's gaming stuff: http://weby.roto.nu
weby is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
3rd edition, supers

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.