Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-27-2017, 12:44 AM   #1
Ajaywojo
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Default Rick and Morty Munckin Items

Hereís a question I havenít seen answered yet. In Rick and Morty Munchkin, can items with special bonuses be used on any combat, not just your own? For example, the Portal Gun can be discard to turn any one monster onto a level one snake worth 1 treasure, 1 level and no bad stuff, but canít be used to gain the winning level. Can you use the card to stop someone from reaching level 10 by switching out the monster in their combat? The rules say you can use one shot items, but doesnít specify about items with special rules, like this one.
Ajaywojo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2017, 09:01 AM   #2
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Rick and Morty Munckin Items

A special ability of an Item can usually be used only by the wielder, but usually a card with a listed discard ability could be used on someone else's turn as long as the card doesn't say it can only be discarded on your turn or on your combat. I don't have the card in front of me, and I'm not sure where my copy is (convention + Thanksgiving + RPG prep for this weekend and next have left me disoriented) to check the card right now, so as long as you haven't left out any critical verbiage on the card, I'd make the presumption that the card could be played on someone else. However, that "not for the winning level" part has me troubled, because that would indicate you couldn't play it to win the game if you couldn't win the current combat you are fighting. That could be taken to mean that if by killing the Monster the player would get the Winning Level, you could not play it on him. However, if he were fighting (and beating) a Monster that would give him 2 Levels, which he absolutely needed to win the game, then you could absolutely play it on that other player.

See how hard this stuff is to parse? I now have a headache and I've just started looking over questions today.

So, short answer: You probably could play it on another player, assuming it wouldn't let them win the game, but let me find the card or let Andrew give a better answer if he can.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.