Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-30-2012, 11:14 PM   #1
munchkinvet123
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Default Bard enthrall ability question

Hey guys question for you all about the bard enthrall ability,

So i was playing with two friends, and my class was bard. I drew a monster and
proceeded to begin the fight, Player C buffed the monster to the point where i was unable to kill it, and then played a potion of apathy on Player B. My question is, is enthrall able to make Player B enter combat anyway, since enthrall says must assist?
munchkinvet123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2012, 05:39 AM   #2
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: Bard enthrall ability question

First, B must have been accepted as a helper before Potion of Apathy could be played. If that did happen, then B cannot be enthralled later as the Potion of Apathy is ensuring he cannot participate. A could try to enthrall C, though...
Clipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2016, 08:40 PM   #3
eMunckin
 
eMunckin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Pennsylvania
Default Re: Bard enthrall ability question

Please tell me if this is correct because I had a situation like this just happen in my game. When the Bard Player successfully enthralls another player and makes that player their helper, a Potion of Apathy CAN STILL be played on that enthralled player? From what I can understand, it sounds like you can still make that player leave the combat even though the Bard's ability made that person into their helper to begin with.
eMunckin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2016, 09:15 PM   #4
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Bard enthrall ability question

Nothing about the Enthrall ability protects the helper from being kicked back out of the fight if someone has the cards to do so.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2017, 07:32 PM   #5
Magog
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Default Re: Bard enthrall ability question

What's the Bard's power limit application? Could any player just leave(by dice) the battle in order to avoid the forced help?
Magog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2017, 11:39 PM   #6
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Bard enthrall ability question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Magog View Post
What's the Bard's power limit application? Could any player just leave(by dice) the battle in order to avoid the forced help?
The helper cannot Run Away unilaterally, and neither player can Run Away if the munchkin side is currently winning the fight. The main player may decide it's time to Run Away, and then both players must roll independently.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2017, 06:45 AM   #7
Magog
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Default Re: Bard enthrall ability question

Thanks, useful!
Magog is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bard, enthrall, potion, question, rules

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.