Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-15-2017, 08:08 AM   #1
Moldon
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: St-Petersburg, Russia
Default Barber Shop Quartet (GBM) Bad Stuff

Barber Shop Quartet Bad Stuff confuse me.
I fight with a halper and lose. What if
a) I fail my Run Away attempt and helper fail his attempt. I lose 3 cards via my Bad Stuff and then lose 3 more cards via helper's Bad Stuff (and hi is too)?
b) I Run Away successfully but helper fail Run Away. I lose 3 card via helper's Bad Stuff (and hi is too)?

And then helper draw cards from my hand he discard them or keeps himself?
__________________
I'm Russian munchkinolog. Sorry for my English.

Last edited by Moldon; 10-15-2017 at 08:18 AM.
Moldon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2017, 11:55 AM   #2
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Barber Shop Quartet (GBM) Bad Stuff

Wow, that IS confusing. I'm going to have to talk to Steve, who wrote this card, and figure out exactly what he intended here.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2017, 08:36 PM   #3
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Barber Shop Quartet (GBM) Bad Stuff

I swapped email from Steve. Here's how we're going to tease this out.

First, I'm going to do something I don't usually do and actually quote the relevant text: "Bad Stuff: If someone helped you in this combat, let him pick three cards from your hand. If nobody helped you, discard three cards. If you were the helper, pick three cards from the person who dragged you into this fight, then discard three."

If there's no helper, this is simple: the main player discards three cards.

If there IS a helper, then things get more complicated, and that's where I think the card is confusingly worded. The *intent* is, if you were the main player and fail your Run Away roll, your helper gets to take three cards from your hand. It's the helper's wording that is confusing because it implies if the *helper* fails the Run Away, the helper can take three cards from the main player *again*.

That is not what is actually meant. If the helper fails the Run Away roll, the helper must discard three cards. If the main player also fails the Run Away roll, the helper takes cards from the main player first and then discards.

Here's an example. The main player is Andrew and the helper is Zoe.
  • Andrew and Zoe both make their rolls: Easy peasy; nothing happens.
  • Andrew fails, Zoe succeeds: Zoe takes three cards from Andrew's hand (and, by the strict wording of the card, Zoe gets to choose those cards - rude!).
  • Andrew succeeds, Zoe fails: Zoe discards three cards (this is NOT what the wording on the card implies, so this counts as official errata).
  • Andrew and Zoe both fail: Zoe takes three cards from Andrew as before, but must then discard three cards of her own.

I hope this helps. Thanks for the good question.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.