Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > GURPS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-22-2017, 01:17 AM   #1
Lameth
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Default Ritual Magic Defaults Help

I am going to use Ritual Magic from Magic/Fantasy and I have a boggle. If you have a College skill of 15, and you find a spell that has zero prerequisites, that means its a zero negative and is automatically at 15, therefor you cant spend points in it, right? You cant have something that goes beyond your college skill right. The only way to get better is increase the college. Can a spell go beyond the college skill?? and can talents and perks bring it over the college skill? thank you
Lameth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2017, 02:28 AM   #2
PK
Assistant GURPS Line Editor
 
PK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Dobbstown Sane Asylum
Default Re: Ritual Magic Defaults Help

Spells cannot exceed the college skill. (You could always allow Technique Mastery to change this, of course.) So if a spell has 0 prereqs, then you have it at College Skill - 0 and cannot improve it.
__________________
Reverend Pee Kitty of the Order Malkavian-Dobbsian (Twitter) (LJ)

MyGURPS: My house rules and GURPS resources.

#SJGamesLive: I answered questions about GURPS After the End and more!
{Watch Video} - {Read Transcript}
PK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2017, 02:39 AM   #3
Lameth
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Default Re: Ritual Magic Defaults Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by PK View Post
Spells cannot exceed the college skill. (You could always allow Technique Mastery to change this, of course.) So if a spell has 0 prereqs, then you have it at College Skill - 0 and cannot improve it.
I thought most agreed that talents, tools, items, perks can take it over max? Sort of like ritual path magic and adding sympathetic items or alignments.
Lameth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2017, 05:03 AM   #4
PK
Assistant GURPS Line Editor
 
PK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Dobbstown Sane Asylum
Default Re: Ritual Magic Defaults Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lameth View Post
I thought most agreed that talents, tools, items, perks can take it over max? Sort of like ritual path magic and adding sympathetic items or alignments.
Talents, no. A Talent adds to a skill, not a technique, and with the Ritual Magic system, all spells are techniques.

Perks, no, unless you're allowing Technique Mastery as mentioned.

Tools and items, yes, but those provide a situational bonus, as opposed to actually raising the technique.
__________________
Reverend Pee Kitty of the Order Malkavian-Dobbsian (Twitter) (LJ)

MyGURPS: My house rules and GURPS resources.

#SJGamesLive: I answered questions about GURPS After the End and more!
{Watch Video} - {Read Transcript}
PK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2017, 05:17 AM   #5
Lameth
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Default Re: Ritual Magic Defaults Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by PK View Post
Talents, no. A Talent adds to a skill, not a technique, and with the Ritual Magic system, all spells are techniques.

Perks, no, unless you're allowing Technique Mastery as mentioned.

Tools and items, yes, but those provide a situational bonus, as opposed to actually raising the technique.
Higher purpose?
Lameth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2017, 11:30 AM   #6
vitruvian
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Default Re: Ritual Magic Defaults Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lameth View Post
Higher purpose?
Well, that really raises the skill and the technique at the same time, as a situational bonus. It doesn't raise the technique independent of the skill like buying up a technique from a (lower than skill) default does.
vitruvian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2017, 12:25 PM   #7
PK
Assistant GURPS Line Editor
 
PK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Dobbstown Sane Asylum
Default Re: Ritual Magic Defaults Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lameth View Post
Higher purpose?
That improves every roll that you make, and thus will always adjust effective skill, but doesn't directly add to a skill's base level or to a technique's base level.

Lameth, nothing will let you improve a 0-prereq spell technique's base level above its college skill except for Technique Mastery or the equivalent. However, anything that gives a situational bonus will affect its effective level, as usual.
__________________
Reverend Pee Kitty of the Order Malkavian-Dobbsian (Twitter) (LJ)

MyGURPS: My house rules and GURPS resources.

#SJGamesLive: I answered questions about GURPS After the End and more!
{Watch Video} - {Read Transcript}
PK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2017, 12:32 PM   #8
Lameth
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Default Re: Ritual Magic Defaults Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by PK View Post
That improves every roll that you make, and thus will always adjust effective skill, but doesn't directly add to a skill's base level or to a technique's base level.

Lameth, nothing will let you improve a 0-prereq spell technique's base level above its college skill except for Technique Mastery or the equivalent. However, anything that gives a situational bonus will affect its effective level, as usual.
Got it! Thank you all very much
Lameth is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.