Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-29-2017, 12:05 AM   #1
Mpwilson
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Default Multiple monsters combat

Playing Marvel Munchkin tonight I was level 9 in combat with a level 18 monster and on my way to winning. Then, two monsters were added to the combat (fairly) each above level 10. I had a bonus card that stated I received +2 for fighting a monster over Level 10. I felt like I should get +2 for each monster being that all 3 monsters I was fighting were over a level 10, but the other players disagreed and said it could only applied to ONE monster. My bonus card was a Power/rank bonus if that helps clarify.
Mpwilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2017, 12:28 AM   #2
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Multiple monsters combat

It depends on what the card said. If it says +2 for each monster L10 or higher, then yes, the bonus would stack. If it just says +2 when you fight a monster L10 or higher, then you would only get the bonus once.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2017, 12:45 AM   #3
Mpwilson
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Default Re: Multiple monsters combat

My bad. It was an Affilition card, Avengers, stating a "+2 bonus when in combat with monsters level 10 or higher."
Mpwilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2017, 12:52 AM   #4
Mpwilson
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Default Re: Multiple monsters combat

I think I felt like it was +2 for each because of the nature the monsters joined the combat. I beat the first monster in levels and then a player added an additional monster, then I beat the two combined, and a player added another totaling 3 monsters. I know their combined strength is what really matters though. I just thought a +2 bonus for monsters over level 10 (all three) could be applied to each.
Mpwilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2017, 12:58 AM   #5
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Multiple monsters combat

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mpwilson View Post
My bad. It was an Affilition card, Avengers, stating a "+2 bonus when in combat with monsters level 10 or higher."
Yep, that's a flat +2. Remember that you don't fight monsters one by one, even when they're added at different times; you fight the horde all together.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.