Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-03-2017, 10:49 AM   #1
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Pequod University
Default Is the Wand of Dowsing playable outside your turn?

Is the Wand of Dowsing playable outside of your own turn?

Last edited by MazeMonster; 05-03-2017 at 11:06 AM.
MazeMonster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2017, 11:35 AM   #2
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Is Dowsing Rod playable outside your turn?

Nothing on the card says you can't.
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2017, 11:50 PM   #3
Join Date: May 2017
Default Re: Is Dowsing Rod playable outside your turn?

Wait, but according to the rules, you can't.
You may perform these actions on your own turn:
- Play a new Class or Race card (at any time).
- Sell Items for levels (except when you are in combat).
- Play an Item (most Items cannot be played during combat, but some one-shot Items can; see p. 3).

Page 3, on One-Shot items:
A Treasure card that says “Usable once only” is often called a “one-shot”
Treasure. Most of these are used during combat to strengthen the munchkins
or the monsters, and may be played from your hand or from the table. Some
have other effects, however, so read the card carefully! Discard these cards as
soon as the combat is over or their effect is resolved.

So I would rule no, because it doesn't say "Use during any combat" or anything to that effect, and the rules say that SOME One-Shot items can be used outside of your turn, but NOT all. Since this one doesn't say it can be, my ruling would be no, you can't use it outside of your turn.
nyctodarkmatter is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:56 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.