Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-24-2017, 12:16 PM   #1
neutropia
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Default Where are One-Shot items to be held?

Sorry if this is a stupid question but I can't find an absolute answer: Do one shot items (e.g. the "+3 to either side" or "-5 to monster" cards) need to be held by a character to be used or can they be played directly from a player's hand?
neutropia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2017, 03:14 PM   #2
MIB 9966
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Default Re: Where are One-Shot items to be held?

If it is an Item (remember: it has to have a gold piece value or the words No Value printed on the corner), then it can be played from the table. They do not have to be equipped.

It can be played from your hand if it simply has the words "Usable Once Only" on them.

If it is a Monster Enhancer ( the +10 to Monster type Door cards), they must be played from the hand since they are not Items and could not be placed on the table to begin with.

Hope this helps!
__________________
Matt Lee
Northeast RD
MIB 9966 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2017, 05:13 PM   #3
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Where are One-Shot items to be held?

Important things to remember:
  1. Monster Enhancers (cards that say things like "-5 to Monster," or "+5 to Monster") are not Items, and can only be played from your hand on a single Monster.
  2. Items will always have a gold piece value (which includes the words "No Value"), and can always be put into play with the exception that you can only ever have one Big Item in play.
  3. One-shot Items (which will say "usable once only") have special rules which say they can be used from your hand or from in play. This means you can put them into play, and do not have to use them immediately when you do. Most one-shot Items are to be played to give a bonus to either side, though there are other effects here and there.

As an aside, there are a few cards, here and there, that do say "usable once only," but do not have a gold piece value. They are not Items as the "usable once only" phrase is not the determining factor on what is an Item.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.