Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-23-2017, 12:40 PM   #1
Munchy
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Default New player question/s....

Howdy! Me and the kids played our first game yesterday. I then went online and watched a few videos about gameplay.
My question is about items/treasure you get from your initial 8 cards and then others you get throughout the game.
Do you put all items down on the table in front of you but turn the ones that aren't equipped sideways?

OR

Do you put items in your hand that you aren't using? For example, if I'm a dwarf and acquire a "human only" item like armor or a weapon, do I still put it on the table or do I keep it in my hand even though I can't use it?

Also, once an item is put on the table you are not allowed to return it to your hand, right? So, if I get a 1hand weapon equipped and then get a 2hander, the 1handed weapon gets turned sideways when the 2hander is equipped, right? It does not go back into my hand even though I am no longer using it, right?

Thanks guys!

Edit: Also, any items that I am not using, whether in my hand or turned sideways on the table, can those be traded to other players or discarded from a curse or other game mechanic?
Munchy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2017, 01:04 PM   #2
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: New player question/s....

It's a little from column a, a little from column b, with respect to putting Items into play. You can put Items you can't use in to play, but you are not required to do so as soon as they hit your hand. Until the end of your turn, you can have any number of cards in your hand, so if you are over the limit, you can certainly empty your hand of Items you can't use, as well as one-shot Items, by putting them into play. Remember, one-shot Items can be used from your hand or from in play. As long as you put the Items you aren't using sideways, that's all that matters.

And, yes, cards never return to your hand without that ability being expressly given by a card. There's no rule in the rulesheet that would allow for it, so it would have to come from a card.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.