Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-17-2017, 08:48 PM   #1
RainbowFury
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Default Forgtting combat power

Scenario from munchkin bites!:
P1 is a werewolf with a total combat strength of 9 and meets lvl. 18 Azmodan.
P1 asks for help from P2 who has a combat strength of 12, so together they can beat it with 21 in combat strength.
P3 plays "undead +5 to monster"
P1 & P2 decides to run away because they forgot werewolves have +4 against undead, resolves the run away rolls and then realizes their mistake after the next door has been kicked down.
Question 1: should they be allowed to beat it since they technically could at the time?
Question 2: if P3 was aware of this when he played undead, and kept quiet, is that cheating or is it the players fighting own job to remember the +4 against undead?
RainbowFury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2017, 09:33 PM   #2
Mr_Draco
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Default Re: Forgtting combat power

Quote:
Originally Posted by RainbowFury View Post
Question 1: should they be allowed to beat it since they technically could at the time?
Question 2: if P3 was aware of this when he played undead, and kept quiet, is that cheating or is it the players fighting own job to remember the +4 against undead?
Imo, the answer to both of these questions will vary from group.

1- In my group the answer would be no because the game has already continued. If they caught their mistake earlier, say while running away, then we would have given it to him. But once the next player has started their turn and kicked down a door, it would be too late to call take backs.

2- It's up to each individual player to keep track of their own bonuses. No one in my group will remind you of a bonus and we don't consider it cheating cause it's your mistake for forgetting about it.
Mr_Draco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2017, 10:02 PM   #3
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Forgtting combat power

Generally, whether a mistake should be repaired relies on how easy it would be to do. If some time has gone by since the mistake was noticed, it's usually best to chalk it up to malevolent fate and just continue with the game.

To your second question, while a player isn't obligated to remind someone else of their bonuses, it's sporting to do so. In most games, I would look very darkly on someone who intentionally withheld the fact that an opponent was winning and let them think they had lost. That includes mentioning that someone's math is wrong if they miscalculate and it includes saying "Did you count your +4 against Undead?" if they haven't mentioned it. Again, it's not an obligation, but it says something about your character if you're willing to let someone lose a fight (or a game) because they forgot a bonus in the heat of the moment.

Tournaments are a bit of a different story, but we don't discuss tournament play in the 101 forum.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2017, 12:24 AM   #4
Niewodnik
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Default Re: Forgtting combat power

While playing with new players i tend to be more forgiving and as Andrew stated, if the damage is easily repaired i allow to backup (not always, just so they know, munchkin is munchkin).

But if all of us are experienced munchkins, there's no mercy. You forgot your bonuses and already running away? We're happy, screw you looser, have Reloaded Die in your face. You opened up a Curse wearing Sandals of Protection and forgot about them? Have a yummy curse you halfwit.

All in all i think it depends on what you agree to do, and stick to it.

Cheers.
Niewodnik is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.