Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-19-2017, 09:30 PM   #1
Nobunga
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Southern Maryland
Default Everything About Hirelings I've Been Afraid to Ask.

Hirelings confuse me. I understand that they have two chief abilities.
  1. They can hold one item and have said item's bonus count for you.
  2. They may be sacrificed to automatically escape from one monster.
I guess my questions are
Do ALL Hirelings have these abilities, even if they don't say on their cards? Or just Hirelings from certain sets?
Is there a limit on what items a Hireling may carry? (Big Items? Race and Class restricted items? Steeds and Vehicles?)
Nobunga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2017, 01:38 AM   #2
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Everything About Hirelings I've Been Afraid to Ask.

Always go by the text on the specific Hireling card in question. Not all Hirelings can carry Items, and the ones that do will be clear about what they can carry and allow you to use.

The "automatic sacrifice" rule appears on the original Hireling card (which is essentially a slightly more flexible Cheat!, allowing you to use one extra Item at the risk of losing it if your Hireling is killed) and is found in the rules of later sets. All Hirelings have this ability if the rules allow it, unless a specific card says otherwise. (Remember that cards override rules.)
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2017, 07:38 AM   #3
Nobunga
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Southern Maryland
Default Re: Everything About Hirelings I've Been Afraid to Ask.

Ok, Thank you.

To sum up, ALL Hirelings can be sacrificed to escape a monster. NOT all Hirelings can be given items.

What has caused my confusion is that I've played so many sets and I got mixed up which was a general Munchkin Rule, which were specific set rules, and which were individual card rules.

Few Examples for my edification:
The Rides of Nightmare Before Christmas cannot be given items (though that set has a plethora of Ride Enhancers).
The Allies of Axe Cop also can't be given items, though there exists the Cat Suit cards which specifically says you can put it on an ally.
And only the Mooks from Munchkin Fu can be given Monster Enhancers.

Last edited by Nobunga; 03-13-2017 at 02:56 PM. Reason: Corrected Misspellings
Nobunga is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.