Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-03-2017, 01:10 PM   #1
Gwyn
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Default Ally

In the Marvel Munchkin some of ally card has a special abilities "You may have an additional ally" I have two question.

1. I play the ally card Nick Fury (which has this special abilities) then I play Captain America (which also has this special abilities) to play another ally giving me a total of 3 ally or would I only be able to have 2 ally total?

2. When battling a monster would all my ally card bonus stack or is it like a cheat card that I can have extra ally in play, but i'm only allow to use one ally in battle?
Gwyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2017, 01:22 PM   #2
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Ally

1. Three total. Nick Fury is Captain America's extra Ally, but Nick Fury's extra Ally slot is not yet filled.

2. All the Ally bonuses stack, no matter how you get your extra Allies. If you use Cheat to get an extra Ally, you may use the bonuses from both Allies in combat. If the rules don't say that, that's an error.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2017, 01:46 PM   #3
Gwyn
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Default Re: Ally

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Hackard View Post

2. All the Ally bonuses stack, no matter how you get your extra Allies. If you use Cheat to get an extra Ally, you may use the bonuses from both Allies in combat. If the rules don't say that, that's an error.
Thanks for the input, I know you can't use cheat card on an ally card since it not a item card. The rule manual never gave a example of ally. "... unless you have a card that lets you ignore these limits, such as an ally or cheat!, or unless a card says otherwise. If you are carrying two headgear cards, for example, you can equip only one of them at a time."

So I was not sure if this also applies to ally too. Since "you may have one Ally accompany your character."
Gwyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2017, 03:33 PM   #4
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Ally

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gwyn View Post
Thanks for the input, I know you can't use cheat card on an ally card since it not a item card. The rule manual never gave a example of ally. "... unless you have a card that lets you ignore these limits, such as an ally or cheat!, or unless a card says otherwise. If you are carrying two headgear cards, for example, you can equip only one of them at a time."

So I was not sure if this also applies to ally too. Since "you may have one Ally accompany your character."
Ah, sorry -- I'm thinking about other sets that have Allies that explicitly do include that rule. If Marvel Edition doesn't include that rule, obviously it's not in play.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.