Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-31-2016, 02:44 PM   #1
capone888
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Default What to do with big item I can no longer carry?

Hi everyone. New player trying to learn the basics here.

If I am a dwarf I can carry two big items (meaning, both big item cards are face up on the table in front of me).

If I lose my dwarf race, I can no longer carry two big items. I am pretty sure I get the choice of which one I want to get rid of, but where do I put it? If I have room in my hand, can I simply put the one big item card from the table back in to my hand, or do I have to put it in the discard pile?

Thanks.
capone888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2016, 03:10 PM   #2
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: What to do with big item I can no longer carry?

Nothing ever returns to your hand without an expressly written exception via a card. However, the rules explain this particular problem in pretty specific detail:

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Rules, Big Items, second paragraph
If something lets you have more than one Big item (for instance, the Dwarf race) and you lose that ability, you must either correct the problem immediately or get rid of all but one Big item. If it’s your turn and you’re not in combat, you can sell the excess Big items (as long as you have at least 1,000 Gold Pieces of Items to sell). Otherwise, you must give them to the lowest-Level player(s) who can carry them! If any Big items are still left over, discard them.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2016, 03:13 PM   #3
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: What to do with big item I can no longer carry?

This situation is covered in the rules.

First: you are never allowed to pull any card back into your hand unless something specifically says you may. Once you play it, it's played.

If you have too many Big items, you have several options:

* You may play a card that makes the extra Big item legal again, such as the Dwarf race or the Cheat! card.

* If it is your turn and you are not in combat, you may sell the extra Big item as part of gaining a level. (You may not do this if you can't or don't want to sell at least 1,000 Gold Pieces for a level, or if you are already Level 9 and can't sell for a level at all.)

* You may offer the Big item to someone as part of a trade or just as a gift.

* Otherwise, you must give your extra Big item to the lowest-Level player who can legally use it. If no one else can use it, you simply discard the extra Big item.

If you have more than one excess Big item, rinse and repeat until you only have one Big item.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.