Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-04-2016, 06:44 PM   #1
Join Date: Jun 2016
Default Dead vs Illusion

Last night some friends and I played a game and a situation arose where my friend was in combat with a monster he was not going to beat. He played Dead on the monster. However, I wanted to play Illusion in response. He argued that the monster was already dead so combat was over and I couldn't play Illusion. My question is: Could I have played Illusion in response to him playing Dead on a monster?

MunchingKing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2016, 09:56 AM   #2
Super Moderator
MunchkinMan's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Dead vs Illusion

Dead does not immediately end the combat, because of its wording. Therefore, it's a card that's simply modifying a Monster. If you play Illusion (with another Monster, as required) then the Dead Monster was just an illusion and is replaced with the (very lively) new Monster.
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep --
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2016, 06:38 AM   #3
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: St-Petersburg, Russia
Default Re: Dead vs Illusion

But this contradict Andrew's answer
Originally Posted by Andrew Hackard View Post
Dead is not a monster enhancer; it is an immediate effect. It and the associated monster would be discarded immediately if you didn't need to keep it there to remind you that the monster you play it on has been killed (and you need to keep the monster there so you remember how much Treasure it has).

So this is a weird corner case in which the cards are neither discarded nor still in play, just like a Curse that is left on the table to remind you to take a penalty at some future time, for instance Change Sex. Annihilation cannot be played on Dead after the fact because Dead is not "in play" in the sense that Annihilation requires.
I'm Russian munchkinolog. Sorry for my English.
Moldon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2016, 08:02 AM   #4
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Dead vs Illusion

Originally Posted by Moldon View Post
But this contradict Andrew's answer
I'm standing by my answer. The Dead monster is no longer in combat (being, y'know, dead) and cannot be replaced by using Illusion.
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:45 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.