Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-11-2016, 01:31 AM   #1
Grej
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Default "Dark" (Munchkin Reloaded)

Can i use ability of "Dark" card and play cards against another player to get a level when I help this player in combat?

(sorry for duplicating post, i wanted just edit it's title)

Last edited by Grej; 08-11-2016 at 01:35 AM.
Grej is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2016, 09:42 AM   #2
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: "Dark" (Munchkin Reloaded)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grej View Post
Can i use ability of "Dark" card and play cards against another player to get a level when I help this player in combat?
Yes, but you only get the level if you lose, which exposes you to the Bad Stuff of the monsters.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2016, 10:29 AM   #3
Grej
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Default Re: "Dark" (Munchkin Reloaded)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Hackard View Post
Yes, but you only get the level if you lose, which exposes you to the Bad Stuff of the monsters.
Thanks.

Does it matter whose combat it is? Can I use this ability when I have a helper in my combat?
Grej is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2016, 10:41 AM   #4
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: "Dark" (Munchkin Reloaded)

Hmm. Rereading the card, it says "another player," which means you shouldn't be able to use the card to help the monsters against yourself. So I'm going to reverse the previous answer -- you cannot gain the Dark benefit if you are in the combat at the time you help the monsters.

However, if you join the combat AFTER helping the monsters, Dark would apply.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2016, 11:29 AM   #5
Grej
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Default Re: "Dark" (Munchkin Reloaded)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Hackard View Post

However, if you join the combat AFTER helping the monsters, Dark would apply.
OK, thanks a lot!

And another interesting question:
I helped the monsters, then I joined the combat, lose it, failed to run away and died. Can I gain a winning level even if I've died myself?
Grej is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2016, 12:15 PM   #6
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: "Dark" (Munchkin Reloaded)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grej View Post
I helped the monsters, then I joined the combat, lose it, failed to run away and died. Can I gain a winning level even if I've died myself?
No, for two reasons: Dark says "another player," so you can't gain a level for hurting yourself, and dead players cannot level up in any event.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2016, 12:50 PM   #7
Grej
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Default Re: "Dark" (Munchkin Reloaded)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Hackard View Post
No, for two reasons: Dark says "another player," so you can't gain a level for hurting yourself...

In my example I have written that I helped monsters BEFORE joining a combat, and you have written earlier that Dark ability works in this case. So, can I gain a level if I helped monsters when I haven't already been in this combat, and then joined it and lost (without death)? Yes, i've hurted myself in combat, but I also hurted my opponent before the time when I took part in this combat and the condition of card is complied, isn't it?
Grej is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2016, 01:37 PM   #8
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: "Dark" (Munchkin Reloaded)

Dead munchkins cannot level up for any reason.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.