Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-16-2014, 08:25 PM   #1
ellyjhun
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Philippines
Default polymorph then friendship...

Example Scenario: (happened to us in one of our games)

A player kicked down a door and got a plutonium dragon,
He couldn't beat it so he used a Polymorph on it.
Then another player used friendship so he wouldn't get the treasures.

Would it be possible to prevent him from getting the treasures?,
or he would get the treasures and the Friendship doesn't work?
ellyjhun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2014, 02:58 PM   #2
Bellum
 
Bellum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Russian Federation, Kislovodsk
Default Re: polymorph then friendship...

Monster is completely polymorphed and flew away.. Friendship? But, with whom? He is a parrot and not a Monster.
Bellum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2014, 09:17 PM   #3
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: polymorph then friendship...

I'm in the middle of something that's requiring a lot of attention, suddenly, so I'm just going to leave this here:

Here's the thread, http://forums.sjgames.com/showthread.php?t=118598 where you'll find this:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Hackard View Post
We escalated this to Steve, and the official answer is that the "No Treasure is gained" clause is correct; Friendship Potion screws you out of the Treasure from the Pollymorphed/charmed monster.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2014, 04:18 PM   #4
Bellum
 
Bellum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Russian Federation, Kislovodsk
Default Re: polymorph then friendship...

MunchkinMan, do you say that is possible to play Friendship after Pollymorph in a fight with only one Monster?

Andrew actually says about Multiple Monsters...
Bellum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2014, 11:52 PM   #5
Idiotbox98
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Madison, Wisconsin
Default Re: polymorph then friendship...

Hmmm, that's interesting... I would have thought that MunchkinMan's ruling was proper. Especially like Bellum said, it's a friendly parrot now, not a monster. But I guess you gotta take the ruling from higher up the food chain!
Idiotbox98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2014, 12:37 AM   #6
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: polymorph then friendship...

The problem is that Friendship Potion is one of those cards that mucks with the entire combat reward, not just one Monster. Which is why I'm saying it is possible to play it, even in the case of only one Monster, where that Monster has been removed with Pollymorph Potion, all under the "reasonable time" rule, which says that if you're about to win a combat (and let's face it, this would count as some kind of victory, so we do consider it), you must give the other players a reasonable amount of time to play cards to stop you. I'll try to see if we can't get a more definitive answer of the one-Monster case, but for now, yes, it can be played even if the only Monster was removed without killing it.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029

Last edited by MunchkinMan; 05-24-2014 at 09:36 AM.
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2016, 12:29 PM   #7
Grej
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Default Re: polymorph then friendship...

So, have I understood correctly that I can cancel player's winning combat with Friendship Potion even when he plays the auto-killing card or bookmark on only monster in combat?
Grej is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2016, 01:40 PM   #8
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: polymorph then friendship...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grej View Post
So, have I understood correctly that I can cancel player's winning combat with Friendship Potion even when he plays the auto-killing card or bookmark on only monster in combat?
If a card was played that gives an autokill, the autokill is honored but the Treasure is not drawn.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.